Hexagonal Countdown: Reggae Boyz off to the Bahamas

With its World Cup 2014 qualifying on the line when it hosts Mexico and the USA three days apart, last-place Jamaica is in the Bahamas for a 12-day camp.

Among the players the Reggae Boyz have recalled are Darren Mattocks of the Vancouver Whitecaps and University of Connecticut goalie Andre Blake. They will play Tottenham on Thursday and the Bahamas national team on May 31.

The Portland Timbers pair of Donovan Ricketts and Ryan Johnson are the only other MLS players in the squad.

Jamaica Roster:
Goalkeepers: Donovan Ricketts (Portland Timbers), Dwayne Miller (Syrianska/SWE), Andre Blake (Univ. of Connecticut), Richard McCallum (Waterhouse).
Defenders:  Alvas Powell (Portmore United), Adrian Mariappa (Reading/ENG), Demar Phillips (Aalesunds FK/NOR), Xavian Virgo (Harbour View), O'Brian Woodbine (VPS/FIN), Montrose Phinn (Harbour View).
Midfielders: Jobi McAnuff (Reading/ENG), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday/ENG), Rudolph Austin (Leeds United/ENG) Marvin Elliot (Bristol City/ENG), Jermaine Hue (Harbour View), Keammar Daley (Tivoli Gardens), Damian Williams (Nybergsund/NOR), Evan Taylor (Harbour View).
Forwards: Garath McCleary (Reading/ENG), Theo Robinson (Derby County/ENG), Ryan Johnson (Portland Timbers), Dane Richards (Burnley/ENG), Jermaine Beckford (Huddersfield Town/ENG), Jermie Lynch (Harbour View), Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps), Daniel Gordon (Karlsruhe/GER).

Honduras, which will face the USA June 18 in Sandy, Utah, recalled five MLS players plus former D.C. United standout Andy Najar, who moved to Anderlecht in January. Only nine of the 27 players in the squad were at the first day of training on Monday in Tegucigalpa.

The Catrachos, who called in eight European-based players, will play one friendly -- against Israel June 2 at Citi Field, home of the baseball Mets, in Queens, N.Y. -- before the series of three qualifiers.

Honduras Roster:
Goalkeepers: Noel Valladares (Olimpia), Donis Escober (Olimpia), Kevin Hernandez (Real Espana), Jose Mendoza (Marathon).
Defenders: Arnold Peralta (Vida), Brayan Beckeles (Olimpia), Juan Carlos Garcia (Olimpia), Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes), Osman Chavez (Wisla Krakow/POL), Juan Pablo Montes (Motagua), Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic/SCO), Jose Velasquez (Victoria), Orlin Peralta (Vida).
Midfielders: Roger Espinoza (Wigan/ENG), Luis Garrido (Red Star/SER), Jorge Claros (Hibernian/SCO), Mario Martinez (Seattle Sounders), Wilson Palacios (Stoke City/ENG), Oscar Boniek Garcia (Houston Dynamo), Marvin Chavez (San Jose Earthquakes), Andy Najar (Anderlecht/BEL).
Forwards: Jerry Bengtson (New England Revolution), Carlo Costly (Veria/GRE), Jerry Palacios (Alajuelense/CRC), Roger Rojas (Olimpia), Rony Martinez (Real Sociedad), Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad).

The surprise of the Hexagonal so far with two ties and a win, Panama opened training camp for its three qualifiers May 13 in Panama City with 11 players -- 10 domestic-based players and Luis Tejada of Mexican club Toluca.

The rest of the team -- which included MLS players Blas Perez (FC Dallas) and Marcos Sanchez (D.C. United) -- must report no later than June 2 ahead of the three qualifiers, including a match against the USA June 11 in Seattle.

Three players -- Gabriel Torres, Amilcar Henriquez and Rolando Blackburn -- return to the team after missing the March qualifiers.

Panama Roster:
Goalkeepers:  Luis Mejia (Fenix/URU), Kevin Melgar (Alianza), Alex Rodriquez (Sporting), Jaime Penedo (Municipal/GUA).
Defenders: Felipe Baloy (Santos/MEX), Leonel Parris (Tauro), Roman Torres (Millonarios/COL), Carlos Rodriguez (Chepo), Luis Henriquez (Lech Poznan/POL), Jean Carlos Cedeno (Alianza), Harold Cummings (Arabe Unido), Roberto Chen (San Francisco), Roderick Miller (San Francisco).
Midfielders: Nelson Barahona (Itagui/COL), Anibal Godoy (Chepo), Jairo Jimenez (Chorrillo), Marcos Sanchez (D.C. United), Alberto Quintero (Chorrillo), Juan de Dios Perez (Tauro), Armando Cooper (Godoy Cruz/ARG), Gabriel Gomez (Atletico Junior/COL), Rolando Escobar (Dep. Anzoategui/VEN), Amilcar Henriquez (Inde. Medellin/COL),
Forwards: Luis Tejada (Toluca/MEX), Blas Perez (FC Dallas), (Tauro), Edwin Aguilar (Tauro), Rolando Blackburn (Senica/SLK), Gabriel Torres (Zamora/VEN).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications