Streaking Flash shuts out Washington

[NWSL REWIND: Week 10] The Western New York Flash defeated the Washington Spirit, 2-0, on goals by Mexican international Veronica Perez and Vicki DiMartino to extend is unbeaten streak to six games on Saturday night in front of 4,630 fans at the Maryland SoccerPlex.

Before the game, ceremonies were held to name the SoccerPlex's championship stadium after women's soccer pioneer Maureen Hendricks. Former Washington Freedom star Mia Hamm was among those on hand for the ceremonies.

-- The loss left the Spirit with just one win in nine games.
 
NWSL RESULTS, Week 10
Saturday, June 15
Washington 0 Western NY 2

Thursday, June 13
Chicago 0 FC Kansas City 2

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 10
Sunday, June 16
Portland vs. Seattle
FC Kansas City vs. Chicago
Boston vs. Sky Blue FC

NWSL STANDINGS
PTS TEAM W-L-T +/-
22 Sky Blue FC 7-2-1 17/8
22 Portland 7-2-1 16/9
16 FC Kansas City 5-3-1 13/8
17 Western NY 5-2-2 15/9
12 Boston 3-3-3 14/14
8 Chicago 2-5-2 7/14
6 Washington 1-5-3 9/16
1 Seattle 0-8-1 4/17

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 11
Wed, June 19
Chicago Red Stars vs. Western NY
Sat, June 22
Sky Blue FC vs. Portland
Sun, June 23
FC Kansas City vs. Washington
Western NY vs. Seattle

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 12
Wed, June 26
Boston vs. Seattle
Sky Blue FC vs. FC Kansas City
Fri, June 28
Western NY vs. Washington
Sat, June 29
Seattle vs. Chicago
Sun, June 30
FC Kansas City vs. Portland
Boston vs. Sky Blue FC

(Click here for information on NWSL streaming.)
Next story loading loading..