Leaders look to end slumps

[NWSL SCHEDULE: Week 13] The top three teams in the NWSL are all at home over the weekend. First-place Sky Blue FC and second-place Portland Thorns FC are both coming off losses, and neither has won in almost three weeks.

Sky Blue FC, which has a three-game winless streak, hosts the Washington Spirit, which snapped a five-game losing streak with a 1-1 tie with FC Kansas City Wednesday in new coach Mark Parson's first game in charge.

Portland, which hasn't scored since a 2-0 win over Seattle on June 16, faces the Boston Breakers for the first time this season.

FC Kansas City, which is now only three points off the lead, hosts the Western New York Flash on Sunday to conclude the weekend action.

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 13
Saturday, July 6
Sky Blue FC vs. Washington
Portland vs. Boston
Sunday, July 7
FC Kansas City vs. Western NY

NWSL RESULTS, Week 13
Thursday, July 4
Chicago 1 Western NY 0.
CHI: Lori Chalupny 58
Att.: 2,064.

Wednesday, July 3
Seattle 1 Boston 1.
SEA: Jessica McDonald (Christine Nairn) 54
BOS: Sydney Leroux (Heather O’Reilly) 63
Att.: 1,430.

Wednesday, July 3
Washington 1 FC Kansas City 1.
FCKC: Erika Tymrak (Merritt Mathias) 55
WAS: Diana Matheson (pen.) 88.
Att.: 2,467.

NWSL STANDINGS
PTS TEAM W-L-T +/-
27 Sky Blue FC 8-3-3 24/15
26 Portland 8-3-2 18/11
24 FC Kansas City 7-4-3 21/14
21 Western NY 6-3-4 22/13
16 Boston 4-5-4 21/22
15 Chicago 4-6-3 14/20
9 Seattle 2-9-3 11/23
7 Washington 1-7-4 10/23

NWSL LEADING SCORERS
G PLAYER (TEAM)
8+1 Sydney Leroux (Boston)
8 Lauren Cheney (FC Kansas City)
7 Abby Wambach (Western NY)
6 Sophie Schmidt (Sky Blue FC)
5 Lisa De Vanna (Sky Blue FC)
5 Alex Morgan (Portland)
5 Renae Cuellar (FC Kansas City)

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 14
Wednesday, July 10
Washington vs. Chicago
Thursday, July 11
Seattle vs. Western NY
Saturday, July 13
Sky Blue FC vs. Boston
Yurcak Field Stadium
Sunday, July 14
Portland vs. Western NY
Chicago vs. FC Kansas City
Seattle vs. Washington

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 15
Saturday, July 20
Chicago vs. Washington
Kansas City vs. Seattle
Sunday, July 21
Western NY vs. Sky Blue FC
Boston vs. Portland

NWSL SCHEDULE, Week 16
Wednesday, July 24
FC Kansas City vs. Boston
Thursday, July 25
Seattle vs. Chicago
Saturday, July 27
Washington vs. Boston
Sunday, July 28
Portland vs. Chicago

(Click here for information on NWSL streaming.)
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications