Veteran keeper gets embarrassing just desserts in Peru

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] Today we’re offering one of those wonderful instances where derision and scorn are welcome for the subject of our clip, as a 37-year-old keeper in Peru coughed up an awful goal entirely of his own making.

Juan Flores has been in Peru’s first division since 1996, with six caps for Peru, but today’s footage makes it clear the veteran goalkeeper has hidden talents.

Six minutes in at Sporting Cristal on Sunday, the Union Comercio goalie gave away one of the most embarrassing goals you'll ever see. Sporting Cristal won 2-0, and its second goal came via an own goal, seriously.

The pink keeper’s uniform and black headband provide early hints that the 6-foot-5 Flores fancies a bit of panache, and that’s before he starts time-wasting in the sixth minute of a scoreless game. The keeper’s Neymar-sized ball fake fools only himself, as Irvin Avila takes the candy away -- and says thank you very much for the easiest winner of his career …

6 comments about "Veteran keeper gets embarrassing just desserts in Peru".
  1. F. Kirk Malloy, August 13, 2013 at 9:38 a.m.

    There is no excuse for such a boneheaded, egotistical play. With that said, the goal should have been disallowed. The keeper had both hands on the ball when the offensive player poked it away to gain possession; see the last replay. Just saying.

  2. Robert S. Antoniuk, August 13, 2013 at 6:11 p.m.

    Shades of Steve Hunt and Tony Chursky in Soccer Bowl'77

  3. Leslie Mohacsy, August 14, 2013 at 2:08 p.m.

    That ball was already in the keepers' hands, and it should not have been a goal.

  4. Joe Smith, August 14, 2013 at 9:08 p.m.

    The ball was never in possession. It was only hold by the keeper, while was on the ground (The ball), that it isn't and will never be possession. Unless you are a very experience soccer official and somebody who really knows and understand the game, this will be the result (Agreeing with the goal). Sorry gentlemen, but you both are very wrong!.

  5. Joe Smith, August 14, 2013 at 9:09 p.m.

    By the way, I forgot to mention something which I completely agree with Mr. Malloy, this keeper is a completely Moron!.

  6. P R, August 29, 2013 at 9:28 p.m.

    I know this comment was from a while ago, but Joe Smith, you may not know the rule, and you probably won't like it, when a keeper has his hands on the ball, it is and always will be considered to be in his possession, even when the ball is on the ground.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications