Venues named for New Zealand tournament

[2015 UNDER-20 WORLD CUP] FIFA announced the host cities for 2015 Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand at ceremonies held at the Maritime Museum in Auckland.

The seven host cities and stadiums for the tournament that will be held May 30-June 21:

-- Auckland (North Harbour Stadium)
-- Christchurch (Christchurch Stadium)
-- Dunedin (Otago Stadium)
-- Hamilton (Waikato Stadium)
-- New Plymouth (Stadium Taranaki)
-- Wellington (Wellington Regional Stadium)
-- Whangarei (Northland Event Centre)

New Zealand previously hosted the U-17 World Cup in 1999 and the U-17 Women’s World Cup in 2008.
2 comments about "Venues named for New Zealand tournament".
  1. Bruce Moorhead, August 16, 2013 at 3:59 p.m.

    The timing is a little surprising to me. It will be a cold and wet tournament at beginning of winter. Maybe snow for games on South Island (Dunedin and Christchurch)? The 1999 U-17 was in Nov, but I guess the international calendar trumps weather for FIFA.

  2. David Huff, August 16, 2013 at 6:58 p.m.

    @Bruce, I am sure that Aotearoa will look splendid that time of year.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications