Winning goal goes up in smoke

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] With the score tied 2-2 in stoppage time in English minor league play, Barnet hit the Cambridge net from close range. But the apparent winning goal was called back by a linesman who judged the ball had gone out of bounds after flying off the crossbar. Making the call all the more controversial is that the ball had disappeared in a cloud of smoke.

George Sykes, who had converted the rebound, and Barnet coach Edgar Davids blamed the assistant referee, but the video is inconclusive.

Shouldn't they be blaming their own fans for setting off flares?

2 comments about "Winning goal goes up in smoke ".
  1. Randy Vogt, November 18, 2013 at 7:32 a.m.

    Does anybody have any idea why Brits still refer to the assistant referee as a linesman even though FIFA changed the name well over a decade ago?

  2. Kent James, November 18, 2013 at 11:25 a.m.

    This is why referees (and assistant referees) should not guess. Unless I'm wrong (or there was a very strong wind from behind the goal, which the stability of the smoke would suggest is not the case), a ball would not go out (the whole ball outside the 4" crossbar) and then come back in when the initial flight of the ball was directly towards the goal (so no sideways swerve as you might see from a corner). So the ball would have to reverse directions by more than 4" without any outside influence during a flight (straight up) of about 15'. If you can't call it out, you shouldn't.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications