U.S. SOCCER: Arena picks 27 MLS players to 30-man roster

For the U.S. national teamÆs first training camp of 2004, Coach Bruce Arena has named a 30-man roster with 27 MLS players. As expected, Arena did not call in the English-based players, whose league does not have a winter break.

The camp, which begins on Jan. 4, leads up to the USAÆs friendly against Denmark Jan. 18 at the Home Depot Center 12:30 pm PT/3:30 pm ET (live on ESPN).

The three foreign-based players are Wade Barrett (AGF Aarhus/Danish First Division), Cory Gibbs (FC St. Pauli/German Third Division) and Robbie Russell (FC Sogndal, Norwegian First Division).

The roster includes nine uncapped players.

The most experienced players on the roster are: Brian McBride (72 caps), Eddie Pope (57), Frankie Hekduk (53) and Chris Armas (50),


Albright, Chris (7/1)
Armas, Chris (50/2)
Barrett, Wade (1/0)
Califf, Dan (11/0)
Cannon, Joe (1/0)
Cunningham, Jeff (8/0)
Curtin, Jim (0/0)
Garcia, Nick (5/0)
Gibbs, Cory (7/0)
Hartman, Kevin (1/0)
Hejduk, Frankie (53/5)
Klein, Chris (14/3)
Kotschau, Ritchie (0/0)
Mastroeni, Pablo (25/0)
McBride, Brian(72/23)
Mulrooney, Richard (12/0)
Mullan, Brian (0/0)
Noonan, Pat (0/0)
Olsen, Ben (22/4)
Perez, Orlando (0/0)
Pope, Eddie (57/5)
Ralston, Steve (14/2)
Razov, Ante (22/6)
Russell, Robbie (0/0)
Talley, Carey (0/0)
Thornton, Zach (8/0)
Walker, Jonny (0/0)
Wolff, Josh (20/6)
Wolyniec, John (0/0)
Zavagnin, Kerry (2/0)


Joe Cannon (Colorado Rapids) Kevin Hartman (Los Angeles Galaxy), Zach Thornton (Chicago Fire), Jonny Walker (MetroStars)

Wade Barrett (AGF Aarhus), Danny Califf (Los Angeles Galaxy), Jim Curtin (Chicago Fire), Nick Garcia (Kansas City Wizards), Cory Gibbs (FC St. Pauli), Frankie Hejduk (Columbus Crew), Rich Kotschau (Colorado Rapids), Orlando Perez (Chicago Fire), Eddie Pope (D.C. United), Robbie Russell (FC Sogndal), Carey Talley (Kansas City Wizards)

Chris Albright (Los Angeles Galaxy), Chris Armas (Chicago Fire), Chris Klein (Kansas City Wizards), Pablo Mastroeni (Colorado Rapids), Brian Mullan (San Jose Earthquakes), Richard Mulrooney (San Jose Earthquakes), Ben Olsen (D.C. United), Steve Ralston (New England Revolution), Kerry Zavagnin (Kansas City Wizards)

Jeff Cunningham (Columbus Crew), Brian McBride (Columbus Crew), Pat Noonan (New England Revolution), Ante Razov (Chicago Fire), Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards), John Wolyniec (MetroStars).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications