The latest goal-line embarrassment

[VIDEO PICK: Off the Post] Once again a simple TV replay accomplished what the refs couldn't despite a seemingly well-placed additional assistant referee (AAR). Vasco da Gama fell, 2-1, to Flamengo but should have been awarded a goal when Douglas' free kick struck the underside of the crossbar and landed inside the goal line.

FIFA will be using goal-line technology at this summer's World Cup, but as this incident shows, a quick look at the TV replay would do the job.

1 comment about "The latest goal-line embarrassment".
  1. feliks fuksman, February 19, 2014 at 9:31 a.m.

    What was the extra goal looking at??

Next story loading loading..