Unbeaten and untied Reign opens up 10-point lead

[NWSL: Week 5] The NWSL is just into its fifth week, but the Seattle Reign FC has opened up a 10-point lead. A 1-0 win at second-place Portland on Scottish international Kim Little's goal in the 89th minute was Seattle's sixth victory in six games, one more than it had the entire 2013 season.

The match appeared to be headed toward a scoreless draw when Little snatched an errant back pass from Rebecca Moros and scored her league-high fifth goal of the season. The game drew 14,182 fans at Providence Park.

NWSL WEEK 5, Results:
Saturday, May 10
Portland 0 Seattle 1
Wednesday, May 7
Western NY 2 FC Kansas City 1
Sky Blue FC 1 Chicago 1

NWSL WEEK 5, Schedule:
Sunday, May 11
3:00 pm ET
Western NY vs. Sky Blue FC
7:00 pm ET
FC Kansas City vs. Washington
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL Standings:
PTS TEAM W-L-T GF/GA
18 Seattle 6-0-0 12/2
8 Portland 2-0-2 6/3
7 Western NY 2-1-1 6/4
7 FC Kansas City 2-3-1 9/9
6 Washington 2-3-0 7/9
6 Sky Blue FC 1-2-3 6/8
4 Chicago 1-2-1 2/3
3 Boston 1-3-0 5/9
3 Houston 1-3-0 3/9

NWSL Leading Scorers:
G PLAYER, TEAM
5+1 Kim Little, Seattle
4 Amy Rodriguez, FC Kansas City
3 Jessica McDonald, Portland
3 Diana Matheson
, Washington
3 Allie Long, Portland

NWSL WEEK 6, Schedule:
Wednesday, May 14
8:00 pm ET
Houston vs. Portland
10:00 pm ET
Seattle vs. FC Kansas City
Thursday, May 15
7:00 pm ET
Boston vs. Chicago
Saturday, May 17
6:30 pm ET
Washington vs. Western NY
Sunday, May 18
6:00 pm ET
FC Kansas City vs. Houston
6:30 pm ET
Boston vs. Chicago
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL WEEK 7, Schedule:
Wednesday, May 21
7:00 pm ET
Washington vs. Sky Blue FC
8:00 pm ET
FC Kansas City vs. Seattle
10:00 pm ET
Portland vs. Western NY
Friday, May 23
8:00 pm ET
Houston vs. Chicago
Saturday, May 24
10:00 pm ET
Portland vs. Sky Blue FC
Sunday, May 25
7:00 pm ET
Boston vs. FC Kansas City
Seattle vs. Western NY
Streaming: NWSL You Tube
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications