Boston breaks out, gets out of basement

[NWSL: Week 8] The Boston Breakers, losers of six of seven games and three in a row at home, got out of the NWSL basement with a 4-1 win over the defending champion Portland Timbers thanks to Jazmine Reeves' hat trick. The Chicago Red Stars extended their unbeaten streak to six games with a 2-0 win over Sky Blue FC that moved them to within four points of leader Seattle.

Canadian Adriana Leon scored the first goal and set up Lori Chalupny for the second in the Chicago win.

MONDAY. The expansion Houston Dash's frustrating start to the NWSL season continued as it dropped a 3-2 decision at the Washington Spirit on Christine Nairn's goal in the 93rd minute after it had twice come back from one-goal deficits.

Canadian Diana Matheson and Englishwoman Jodie Taylor also scored for the Spirit, but Nina Burger and Osinachi Ohale responded for the Dash, which dropped to 1-7-1.

NWSL WEEK 8, Results:
Wednesday May 28
Boston 4 Portland 1
Sky Blue FC vs. Chicago

Monday, May 26
Washington 3 Houston 2

NWSL WEEK 8, Schedule:
Saturday, May 31
7:00 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Houston
Sunday June 1
6:00 pm   ET
Sky Blue FC vs. Seattle
6:30 pm   ET
Boston vs. Washington
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL Standings:
PTS TEAM W-L-T GF/GA
23 Seattle 7-0-2 19/7
19 Chicago 6-2-1 15/6
15 FC Kansas City 4-4-3 18/16
14 Portland 4-3-2 10/10
13 Washington 4-4-1 17/17
11 Western NY 3-3-2 13/11
10 Sky Blue FC 2-4-4 10/15
6 Boston 2-6-0 11/19
4 Houston 1-7-1 8/19

NWSL Leading Scorers:
G PLAYER, TEAM
8 Kim Little, Seattle
8 Amy Rodriguez, FC Kansas City
5 Jessica McDonald, Portland
5 Diana Matheson, Washington

NWSL WEEK 9, Schedule:
Wednesday, June 4
8:00 pm   ET
Chicago vs. Washington
FC Kansas City vs. Western NY
Saturday June 7
8:00 pm   ET
FC Kansas City vs. Boston
10:00 pm   ET
Seattle vs. Chicago
Portland vs. Western NY
Sunday June 8
6:00 pm   ET
Sky Blue FC vs. Houston
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL WEEK 10, Schedule:
Wednesday June 11
7:00 pm   ET
Boston Breakers vs. Washington
9:00 pm   ET
Houston Dash vs. Western NY
Saturday June 14
9:00 pm   ET
Houston vs. FC Kansas City
Sunday June 15
2:00 pm   ET
Chicago vs. Sky Blue FC    
5:00 pm   ET
Portland vs. Washington
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL WEEK 11, Schedule:
Wednesday June 18
7:00 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Chicago
Thursday, June 19
7:00 pm   ET
Boston vs. Seattle
Saturday, June 21
6:30 pm   ET
Washington Spirit vs. Portland
8:00 pm   ET
FC Kansas City vs. Chicago
Sunday, June 22
1:00 pm   ET
Sky Blue FC vs. Boston
3:00 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Seattle
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL WEEK 12, Schedule:
Wednesday, June 25
10:00 pm   ET
Portland vs. Sky Blue FC
Friday, June 27
7:30 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Boston
Saturday, June 28
8:00 pm   ET
FC Kansas City vs. Portland
9:00 pm   ET
Houston vs. Washington
Seattle vs. Sky Blue FC
Streaming: NWSL You Tube
Next story loading loading..