Red Stars' streak ends; A-Rod scores again

[NWSL: Week 8] The Chicago Red Stars' five-game winning streak that moved them into second place in the NWSL ended on Wednesday when they fell at home to the Washington Spirit, 1-0. Amy Rodriguez continued her hot form with the lone goal in FC Kansas City's 1-0 win over Western New York.

Chicago came into the game with the NWSL's best defense, but Englishwoman Jodie Taylor broke a scoreless deadlock in the 79th minute for the Spirit, which moved into fourth place with the victory.

A-Rod's goal gave here nine for the season, tied with Kim Little of first-place Seattle for the league lead.

Flash star Abby Wambach missed the game with a mild lateral collateral ligament sprain sustained at Houston on Saturday.

NWSL WEEK 9, Results:
Wednesday, June 4
Chicago 0 Washington 1
FC Kansas City 1 Western NY 0

NWSL WEEK 9, Schedule:
Saturday June 7
8:00 pm   ET
FC Kansas City vs. Boston
10:00 pm   ET
Seattle vs. Chicago
Portland vs. Western NY
Sunday June 8
6:00 pm   ET
Sky Blue FC vs. Houston
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL Standings:
PTS TEAM W-L-T GF/GA
26 Seattle 8-0-2 22/8
19 Chicago 6-2-1 15/6
18 FC Kansas City 5-4-3 19/16
16 Washington 5-4-1 20/20
14 Portland 4-3-2 10/10
11 Western NY 3-5-2 14/14
10 Sky Blue FC 2-5-4 11/18
7 Houston 2-7-1 10/20
6 Boston 2-7-0 13/22

NWSL Leading Scorers:
G PLAYER, TEAM
9 Kim Little, Seattle
9+1 Amy Rodriguez, FC Kansas City
5+1 Jodie Taylor, Washington
5 Jessica McDonald
, Portland
5 Diana Matheson, Washington

NWSL WEEK 10, Schedule:
Wednesday June 11
7:00 pm   ET
Boston Breakers vs. Washington
9:00 pm   ET
Houston Dash vs. Western NY
Saturday June 14
9:00 pm   ET
Houston vs. FC Kansas City
Sunday June 15
2:00 pm   ET
Chicago vs. Sky Blue FC    
5:00 pm   ET
Portland vs. Washington
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL WEEK 11, Schedule:
Wednesday June 18
7:00 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Chicago
Thursday, June 19
7:00 pm   ET
Boston vs. Seattle
Saturday, June 21
6:30 pm   ET
Washington Spirit vs. Portland
8:00 pm   ET
FC Kansas City vs. Chicago
Sunday, June 22
1:00 pm   ET
Sky Blue FC vs. Boston
3:00 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Seattle
Streaming: NWSL You Tube

NWSL WEEK 12, Schedule:
Wednesday, June 25
10:00 pm   ET
Portland vs. Sky Blue FC
Friday, June 27
7:30 pm   ET
Western NY vs. Boston
Saturday, June 28
8:00 pm   ET
FC Kansas City vs. Portland
9:00 pm   ET
Houston vs. Washington
Seattle vs. Sky Blue FC
Streaming: NWSL You Tube
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications