What We're Reading

FIFA Absolves Robben for Diving Comments

FIFA on Tuesday said it would not investigate the post-game comments of Netherlands forward Arjen Robben, in which he admitted to diving in Sunday’s win against Mexico. Speaking to Dutch television after the game, Robben acknowledged to diving in the area during the game, just not on the play that led to the winning penalty kick in the 93rd minute. Robben even apologized for diving.

Following his comments, the Dutch soccer association (KNVB) released a statement on Monday that sought to clarify the matter, saying that the Bayern Munich winger was simply being “honest.”

However, the New York Times notes that per FIFA’s disciplinary code, any player “who violates the principles of fair play or whose behavior is unsporting in any other way may be subject to sanctions.” Nevertheless, FIFA on Monday said that it would only open disciplinary proceedings retroactively for “serious infringements” unseen by the referee.

Read the whole story at New York Times »

Next story loading loading..