Squads picked for Denmark and Mexico tourneys

[USA UNDER-17 MEN] U.S. under-17 men’s national team head coach Richie Williams named two rosters for the upcoming Open Nordic Tournament starting July 28 in Kolding, Denmark, and the Copa Mexico de Naciones, which kicks off Aug. 2 in Mexico City. Most of the highly touted U-17s are concentrated on the team headed to Mexico, though four players are on both rosters.

The U-17s have won the last three tournaments they entered: Nike International Friendlies in Florida, Aegean Cup in Turkey and Katalinski Memorial Tournament in Bosnia-Herzegovina, and most of the best players have already moved abroad. The latest move is playmaker Christian Pulisic to Borussia Dortmund in Germany.

Players recalled for the Copa Mexico de Naciones include Daniel Barbir and Luca de la Torre, who play in English academy programs, Josh Perez, who has been at Fiorentina in Italy, and Joe Gallardo, who is at Monterrey in Mexico. Haji Wright is also expected to move to Germany.

Four players are on the rosters for both tournaments: goalkeeper William Pulisic, Christian Pulisic's cousin, defender Edwin Lara, who is only a 14 and a fixture in the U-17 lineup, and forwards McKinze Gaines and Elijah Rice.

U.S. U-17 Rosters:
Open Nordic Tournament:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Eric Lopez (LA Galaxy Academy), William Pulisic (Richmond Strikers).
DEFENDERS (6): Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls Academy), Nikkye DePoint (Revolution Empire), Edwin Lara (Juventus Sport Club), AJ Palazzolo (St. Louis Scott Gallagher MO), Logan Panchot (St. Louis Scott Gallagher MO), Miles Stray (Real Salt Lake AZ).
MIDFIELDERS (6): George Braima (Crew Soccer Academy), Jonathan Gonzalez (Monterrey/MEX), Kyle Gurrieri (NJCSA), Keegan Kelly (Baltimore Celtic), Weston McKennie (FC Dallas Academy), Brian Zelaya (De Anza Force).
FORWARDS (4): McKinze Gaines (Lonestar SC), Kai Koreniuk (Vitesse/NED), Eric Matzelevich (Bethesda-Olney), Elijah Rice (Chicago Magic PSG).

Copa Mexico de Naciones:
GOALKEEPERS (2): William Pulisic (Richmond Strikers), Kevin Silva (PDA).
DEFENDERS (7): Hugo Arellano (Chivas USA Academy), Daniel Barbir (West Bromwich Albion/ENG), Tanner Dieterich (Unattached), Edwin Lara (Juventus Sport Club), John Nelson (Internationals), Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy), Alexis Velela (San Diego Surf).
MIDFIELDERS (5): Eric Calvillo (Real So Cal), Luca de la Torre (Fulham/MEX), Thomas McCabe (PDA), Christian Pulisic (PA Classics), Alejandro Zendejas (FC Dallas Academy).
FORWARDS (6): Pierre Da Silva (New York SC), McKinze Gaines (Lonestar SC), Joe Gallardo (Monterrey/MEX), Josh Perez (Unattached), Elijah Rice (Chicago Magic PSG), Haji Wright (Unattached).
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications