Nicaragua's Real Esteli opens with draw

[CONCACAF CHAMPIONS LEAGUE] Nicaragua's Real Esteli, MLS champion Sporting Kansas City's first opponent in the 2014-15 Concacaf Champions League, played to a 1-1 tie with visiting Saprissa of Costa Rica in their Group 2 opener Wednesday night at Estadio Independencia.

Esteli led on a goal by Uruguayan midfielder Rodrigo Valiente in the 10th minute with his shot from 30 yards out. Ariel Rodriguez pulled Saprissa level in the 65th minute.

Esteli is participating in its fifth Concacaf Champions League tournament but is winless in 13 games. Saprissa reached the semifinals in 2011, its last appearance in CCL play.

Sporting KC's campaign begins on Aug. 19 with a trip to Esteli, where it opened play a year ago with a 2-0 victory on goals from Ike Opara and Dom Dwyer.

WEEK 1
Tuesday, August 5
Alpha United (GUY) 0 Olimpia (HON) 1
Cruz Azul (MEX) 1 Alajuelense (CRC) 1
Montreal Impact 1 FAS (SLV) 0
Isidro Metapan (SLV) 2 Leon (MEX) 4
 
Wednesday, August 6
Pachuca (MEX) 4 Real Espana (HON) 1      
Real Esteli (NCA) 1 Saprissa (CRC) 1
 
Thursday, August 7
10 pm
Comunicaciones (GUA) vs. Bayamon FC (PUR)
Tauro FC (PAN) vs. Waterhouse (JAM)
 
WEEK 2
Tuesday, August 19
8 pm
Alpha United (GUY) vs Portland Timbers
Club America (MEX) vs. Bayamon FC (PUR)
10 pm
Chorrillo (PAN) vs. Cruz Azul (MEX)
Real Esteli (NCA) vs. Sporting KC
 
Wednesday, August 20
8 pm
DC United vs. Waterhouse FC (JAM)
10 pm
FAS (SLV) vs. Montreal Impact

Thursday, August 21

10 pm
Real Espana (HON) vs. Municipal (GUA)
Belmopan Bandits (BLZ) vs. Isidro Metapan (SLV)
 
WEEK 3
Tuesday, August 26
8 pm
New York Red Bulls vs. FAS (SLV)
10 pm
Comunicaciones (GUA) vs. Club America (MEX)
Saprissa (CRC) vs. Real Esteli (NCA)
 
Wednesday, August 27
8 pm
Leon (MEX) vs. Belmopan Bandits (BLZ)
10 pm
Municipal (GUA) vs. Pachuca (MEX)
 
Thursday, August 28
8 pm
Waterhouse (JAM) vs. Tauro FC (PAN)
10 pm
Alajuelense (CRC) vs. Chorrillo (PAN)
Olimpia (HON) vs. Alpha United (GUY)
 
WEEK 4
Tuesday, September 16
8 pm
Waterhouse (JAM) vs. D.C. United
Cruz Azul (MEX) vs. Chorrillo (PAN)
10 pm
Portland Timbers vs. Olimpia (HON)
 
Wednesday, September 17
8 pm
Bayamon FC (PUR) vs. Club America (MEX)
Montreal Impact vs. New York Red Bulls
10 pm

Municipal (GUA) vs. Real Espana (HON)
 
Thursday, September 18
8 pm
Sporting KC vs. Saprissa (CRC)
10 pm
Isidro Metapan (SLV) vs. Belmopan Bandits (BLZ)
 
WEEK 5
Tuesday, September 23
8 pm
Sporting KC vs. Real Esteli (NCA)
10 pm
Portland Timbers vs. Alpha United (GUY)
 
Wednesday, September 24
8 pm
Pachuca (MEX) vs. Municipal (GUA)
D.C. United vs. Tauro FC (PAN)
10 pm
FAS (SLV) vs. New York Red Bulls
Belmopan Bandits (BLZ) vs. Leon (MEX)
 
Thursday, September 25
8 pm
Bayamon FC (PUR) vs. Comunicaciones (GUA)
10 pm
Chorrillo FC (PAN) vs. Alajuelense (CRC)
 
WEEK 6
Tuesday, October 21
8 pm
Tauro FC (PAN) vs. D.C. United
Club America (MEX) vs. Comunicaciones (GUA)
10 pm
Alajuelense (CRC) vs. Cruz Azul (MEX)
Olimpia (HON) vs. Portland Timbers

Wednesday, October 22

8 pm
New York Red Bulls vs. Montreal Impact
10 pm
Real Espana (HON) vs. Pachuca (MEX)
 
Thursday, October 23
8 pm
Leon (MEX) vs. Isidro Metapan (SLV)
10 pm
Saprissa (CRC) vs. Sporting KC
Next story loading loading..