Orlando City clinches third Commissioner's Cup

[USL PRO: Week 25] Orlando City clinched its third Commissioner's Cup title as USL PRO regular-season champion after drawing the Wilmington Hammerheads, 0-0, at Legion Stadium.

Orlando will head off to MLS next season having won the USL PRO regular-season title every season but in 2013 when it finished second to the Richmond Kickers. It went on to capture the 2013 league title in the playoffs.

“I’m absolutely delighted, for not just the players, but also for the front office and everyone associated with the club," Orlando coach Adrian Heath said. "It’s been a monumental season, and despite everything going on in the background this year, the players remained focused to win the title seven points clear with one game remaining. It speaks volumes for everyone associated with the organization.”

The Hammerheads need only one point in its last two games to claim one of the three remaining playoff slots. They are now unbeaten in five straight games since longtime head coach David Irving stepped down.

Monday, September 1
Montreal Impact Reserves 1 Charlotte 1
LA Galaxy II 1 Richmond 1
Wednesday, September 3
Wilmington 0 Orlando City 0

Thursday, September 4
Sacramento vs. OKC Energy FC
Friday, September 5
Dayton vs. Wilmington
Charleston vs. Harrisburg
Saturday, September 6
Charlotte vs. Harrisburg
Pittsburgh vs. Arizona United
Orlando City vs. Richmond
Orange County vs. OKC Energy FC
Sacramento vs. LA Galaxy II
Sunday, September 7
Rochester vs. Wilmington

USL PRO, Standings:
59 *Orlando City 18-4-5 55/24
52 *Sacramento 16-6-4 47/26
51 *Richmond 13-2-12 53/27
48 *LA Galaxy II 14-7-6 52/37
38 *Charleston 10-9-8 34/30
35 Rochester 9-10-8 27/27
35 Wilmington 8-8-10 31/31
34 Harrisburg 9-10-7 40/42
32 Pittsburgh 9-13-5 34/47
31 Charlotte 9-14-4 31/36
30 (-2) Arizona Utd. 9-13-5 30/46
29 OKC Energy 8-13-5 31/36
28 Orange County 9-17-1 31/53
22 Dayton 6-17-4 28/59
*Clinched playoff berth.

USL PRO, Leading Scorers:
19 Kevin Molino, Orlando City
14 Matthew Delicate, Richmond
12 Aaron Schoenfeld, Dayton
12 Chandler Hoffman, LA Galaxy II
11 George Davis, Richmond
11 Tommy Stewart, Sacramento
10 Dane Kelly
, Charleston
9 Jorge Herrera, Charlotte
9 Jimmy Banks, Pittsburgh
9 Lopez Rodrigo Sacramento
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications