U.S. OPEN CUP: MLS clubs join Open Cup battle; 3rd & 4th round schedule

Eight MLS teams, last year's playoff qualifiers, join the U.S. Open Cup field at the fourth-round. 2003 bottom finishers Dallas and Columbus enter in the third round.

The Open Cup winner earns $100,000 in prize money, $50,000 goes to the runner-up and $10,000 to the team that advances the farthest in the each of the Division II, Division III and amateur levels.

The Chicago Fire is the defending champion and also won in 1998 and 2000.

Third Round
June 30
Portland Timbers (A-League) at Utah Blitzz (PSL)
Boulder Rapids Reserve (PDL) at Minnesota Thunder (A-League) Wilmington Hammerheads (PSL) at Charleston Battery (A-League)
Atlanta Silverbacks (A-League) at Carolina Dynamo (PDL)
Virginia Beach Mariners (A-League) at Dallas Burn (MLS)
Cape Cod Crusaders (PDL) at Richmond Kickers (A-League)

Syracuse Salty Dogs (A-League) at Columbus Crew (MLS)
South Jersey Barons (PDL) at Columbus Crew

Chicago Fire Reserves (PDL) at Rochester Raging Rhinos

Fourth Round
July 14
San Jose Earthquakes (MLS) at Portland Timbers
July 20
San Jose Earthquakes at Utah Blitzz

July 20
Boulder Rapids Reserve at Los Angeles Galaxy (MLS)
Los Angeles Galaxy at Minnesota Thunder

Colorado Rapids (MLS) at Dallas Burn
Colorado Rapids at Virginia Beach Mariners

Chicago Fire Reserves (PDL) or Rochester Raging Rhinos (A) at New England

Syracuse Salty Dogs (A-League) or Columbus Crew (MLS) or South Jersey Barons vs. Chicago Fire (MLS)

Kansas City Wizards (MLS) at Carolina Dynamo
Kansas City Wizards at Atlanta Silverbacks

Wilmington Hammerheads at MetroStars (MLS)
MetroStars at Charleston Battery

Cape Cod Crusaders at D.C. United (MLS)
D.C. United at Richmond Kickers

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications