WORLD CUP 2006: CONCACAF qualifying semifinal round schedule

Mexico's 8-0 demolition of Dominica on Sunday for a 18-0 aggregate win finalizes the three semifinal groups of CONCACAF World Cup 2006 qualifying. Here is the semifinal round schedule:

(Home team listed first)

GROUP A (El Salvador, Jamaica, Panama, USA)
Aug. 18
El Salvador -Panama
Sept. 4
USA-El Salvador (Foxboro, Mass)
Sept. 4 or 5
Sept. 8
El Salvador-Jamaica
Oct. 9
El Salvador-USA
Oct. 9 or 10
Oct. 13
USA-Panama (Washington, D.C.)
Jamaica-El Salvador
Nov. 17
USA-Jamaica (Columbus, Ohio)
Panama-El Salvador

GROUP B (Canada, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras)
Aug. 18
Costa Rica-Honduras
Sept. 4 or 5
Guatemala-Costa Rica
Sept. 8
Costa Rica-Canada
Oct. 9 or 10
Costa Rica-Guatemala
Oct. 13
Canada-Costa Rica
Nov. 17
Honduras-Costa Rica

GROUP C: (Mexico, St. Kitts & Nevis, St. Vincent & The Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago)
Aug. 18
St. Kitts & Nevis-Mexico
St. Vincent & The Grenadines-Trinidad & Tobago
Sept. 4 or 5
Mexico-St. Vincent & The Grenadines
St. Kitts & Nevis-Trinidad & Tobago
Sept. 8
Trinidad & Tobago-Mexico
St. Vincent & The Grenadines-St. Kitts & Nevis
Oct. 9 or 10
St. Vincent & The Grenadines-Mexico
Trinidad & Tobago-St. Kitts & Nevis
Oct. 13
Mexico-Trinidad & Tobago
St. Kitts & Nevis-St. Vincent & The Grenadines
Nov. 17
Mexico-St. Kitts & Nevis
Trinidad & Tobago-St. Vincent & The Grenadines

The top two teams in each group advance to the final round in 2005. The top three teams in the six-team final-round group qualifiy for the 2006 World Cup. The fourth-place team will meet an Asian team in a playoff for an additional berth.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications