Wambach carries USA to fifth title

[CONCACAF WOMEN"S CHAMPIONSHIP] Abby Wambach showed why she is still one of the most feared women's strikers in the world as she scored four goals and added an assist as the USA won the Concacaf Women's Championship with a 6-0 win over Costa Rica in Sunday's final before before 11,625 spectators at PPL Park at Chester, Pennsylvania.

Wambach scored after only four minutes and had the eighth hat trick of her international career by the 41st minute with a trio of headers. Her fourth goal was the best of the bunch, a chip over Tica keeper Dinnia Diaz.

Wambach leads the USA with 14 goals in 2014 and has now has 177 goals in 228 matches. Although she is no longer a full-time starter on the national team, she was the lone American nominated for the FIFA Women's Player of the Year.

The other U.S goals were scored by Carli Lloyd, her fifth in five tournament matches, and Sydney Leroux, who scored her first goal of the competition in the second half.

The tournament's top awards went to Lloyd (Golden Ball as MVP with five goals and four assists), Wambach (Golden Boot with a tournament-high seven goals in four games) and Hope Solo (Golden Glove winner with four shutouts).

Solo had little to do, though, as for the fourth game in a row, the USA held its opposition with a shot on goal. The USA finished the tournament with a 21-0 edge in goals and its last four games with a 83-4 edge in shots.

The USA won the Concacaf Women's Championship for the fifth time after wins in 1991, 1994, 2002 and 2006. It did not participate in the 1998 event because it already qualified  for the 1999 Women's World Cup at the host. In 2010, the USA finished third behind Canada and host Mexico.

In Sunday's third-place game, Mexico defeated Trinidad & Tobago, 4-2, on a pair of goals by Charlyn Corral in overtime to win the third-place game and automatic qualification to the 2015 Women's World Cup. El Tri Femenil was the 21st team to qualify.

On Saturday, Ivory Coast became the sixth team to qualify for the Women's World Cup for the first time when it won the third-place game at the African Women's Championship.

The final three berths will be go to the Oceania champion, the winner of the Ecuador-Trinidad & Tobago playoff and the winner of the European playoff in which four teams -- Netherlands, Scotland, Italy and Ukraine -- are entered.

Oct. 26 in Chester, Pennsylvania
USA 6 Costa Rica 0. Goal: Wambach 4, 35, 41, 71, Lloyd 17, Leroux 73.
USA -- Solo; Krieger, Rampone, Sauerbrunn, Klingenberg; Holiday, Brian (Leroux, 56), Lloyd; Press (O'Reilly, 56), Wambach, Rapinoe (Heath, 57)
Costa Rica -- Dinnia Diaz; Saenz (Venegas, 46), Sanchez, D.Cruz, S.Cruz, R.Rodriguez; L.Rodriguez (Guillen, 76), Granados, Alvarado; Herrera, Acosta (Sanchez, 74).
Referee: Lucila Venegas (Mexico).
Att.: 11,625.
2 comments about "Wambach carries USA to fifth title".
  1. Michelle Wichlac, October 27, 2014 at 8:49 a.m.

    I totally disagree with the golden glove award. While Hope Solo is an excellent goal keeper, she didn't touch the ball very much the whole tournament. I feel that the Costa Rican goal keeper, Dinnia Diaz, was much more deserving of this award, based on her performance in the semi-final game.

  2. James Madison, October 27, 2014 at 7:01 p.m.

    When, oh when, is SA going to stop discriminating against the women and to begin rating the the performancs in matches of USWNT players as it does those of the USMNT players?

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications