What We're Reading

Spanish Champ Shunned at La Liga Awards

  • AS, Tuesday, October 28, 2014 3:07 PM

Spanish champion Atletico Madrid only took home one prize at Monday night’s annual Spanish soccer league (LFP) awards, as Real Madrid, which finished third last season, and particularly, star forward Cristiano Ronaldo, dominated the list of winners.

Despite having six nominees across all player categories, Atletico only won the award for best coach. In his acceptance speech, Argentine Diego Simeone pointedly thanked each of the players who were nominated for awards they did not win: Thibaut Courtois, Felipe Luis (both now with Chelsea), Miranda, Gabi, Koke, and Diego Costa (also now with Chelsea).

Ronaldo, meanwhile, took home the prizes for best forward, best overall player and best goal. "I have a hat trick of awards, it is spectacular," the Portuguese said in his acceptance speech. "I'd like to thank my teammates, without them I wouldn't have been able to score so many goals. I'd also like to thank my girlfriend, my family and the fans. I'd like to be back next year and to keep winning awards. That is why I dedicate myself one hundred percent, to win team trophies and also individual ones. I have had a great time tonight. Thank you very much."

In other awards, Ronaldo’s teammates Sergio Ramos, Luka Modric and Keylor Navas (with Levante last season), won best defender, best midfielder and best goalkeeper, respectively. 

Read the whole story at AS »

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications