Maryland wins third straight conference title

[BIG TEN: Men] Mael Corboz scored on a free kick from 20 yards with less than five minutes to play to give Maryland its first-ever Big Ten Tournament championship with a 2-1 victory over Indiana on Sunday at Ludwig Field. The conference title was the third straight for the Terrapins, who won he 2012 and 2013 ACC titles.
Freshman Christoffer Wallander-Ianev also scored for the Terps with his first career goal in the 42nd minute after earning a start for injured redshirt senior Jereme Raley. Mikey Ambrose’s serve into the box bounced around before Chris Odoi-Atsem knocked it down towards Wallander-Ianev, who put on the finishing touch for the goal.
Indiana answered in the 64th minute on an own goal past Maryland goalkeeper Zack Steffen.
“First of all, I’m incredibly happy and proud of our team today," said Maryland coach Sacha Cirovski. "Indiana came to play. They played very aggressive and competed hard … exactly what you would expect of a championship-caliber program and team. We weathered the storm a little bit I think through some fatigue. But we found a way to get a goal and get some momentum going into halftime. I thought it was a very even game. Our goal was opportunistic. Their goal was opportunistic. And then for us to get the game-winner on a spectacular goal by Mael makes you feel good because it was worthy of a championship winner today.”
Steffen made a season-high six saves after posting two critical penalty kick stops in Friday’s semifinal shootout win over Michigan State. The Terps have allowed only seven goals in the last 11 matches.
Corboz and Steffen earned Big Ten Tournament Offensive and Defensive Most Valuable Player honors, respectively.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications