Keane is consensus pick for MLS MVP

Following a campaign that saw so many stars have great seasons, Irishman Robbie Keane emerged as the consensus winner of the 2014 Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player, finishing first in voting by media, MLS players and MLS club management.

Weighted Total Votes
1. Robbie Keane 88.69
2. Obafemi Martins 63.22
3. Lee Nguyen 57.54
4. Bradley Wright-Phillips 49.81

Weighted Club Votes
1. Robbie Keane 30.95
2. Lee Nguyen 21.43
3. Bradley Wright-Phillips 20.25
4. Obafemi Martins 19.05

Weighted Media Votes
1. Robbie Keane 32.22
2. Obafemi Martins 27.78
3. Lee Nguyen 18.89
4. Bradley Wright-Phillips 7.78

Weighted Player Votes
1. Robbie Keane 25.52
2. Bradley Wright-Phillips 21.78
3. Lee Nguyen 17.22
4. Obafemi Martins 16.39

In 29 games, Keane recorded 19 goals and tallied 14 assists, both MLS career highs. He placed third in the league for goals while tying for second-most assists. His combination of goals and assists were more than any other player in the league.
Keane, who will captain the Galaxy against New England Revolution in MLS Cup 2014 on Sunday, finished ahead of Obafemi Martins, Lee Nguyen and Bradley Wright-Phillips. Each of the players finished second to Keane in one of the three voting categories.
Keane became the first European player to win the award. All the other winners have come from Concacaf (12) or South America (6).

MLS MVPS (by country);
2 Argentina
2 Colombia
2 Honduras
1 Bolivia
1 Brazil
1 Canada
1 Guatemala
1 Ireland

Keane is just the third Galaxy player to win the MLS MVP award. The other Galaxy players to win the MVP award were Carlos Ruiz in 2002 and Landon Donovan in 2009.

MLS Most Valuable Players:
2014: Robbie Keane, LA Galaxy
2013: Mike Magee, Chicago Fire
2012: Chris Wondolowski, San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Dwayne De Rosario, D.C. United
2010: David Ferreira, FC Dallas
2009: Landon Donovan, LA Galaxy
2008: Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Columbus Crew
2007: Luciano Emilio, D.C. United
2006: Christian Gomez, D.C. United
2005: Taylor Twellman, New England Revolution
2004: Amado Guevara, MetroStars
2003: Preki, Kansas City Wizards
2002: Carlos Ruiz, LA Galaxy
2001: Alex Pineda Chacon, Miami Fusion
2000: Tony Meola, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Jason Kreis, Dallas Burn
1998: Marco Etcheverry, D.C. United
1997: Preki, Kansas City Wizards
1996: Carlos Valderrama, Tampa Bay Mutiny

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Winners
2014: Bill Hamid, D.C. United
2013: Donovan Ricketts, Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen, Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller, Seattle Sounders
2010: Donovan Ricketts, LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton, Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch, Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan, Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins, D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad, San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon, Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad, San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon, San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard, MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman, Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton, Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel, Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd, Dallas Burn

MLS Defender of the Year Winners:
2014: Chad Marshall, Seattle Sounders
2013: Jose Goncalves, New England Revolution
2012: Matt Besler, Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez, LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave, Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall, Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall, Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst, New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell, D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad, Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser, Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos, San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser, Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik, Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope, D.C. United
1996: John Doyle, San Jose Earthquakes
MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2014: Ben Olsen, D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter, Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop, San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena, LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman, FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena, Los Angeles Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid, Columbus Crew
2007: Preki, Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley, Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear, San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis, Columbus Crew
2003: Dave Sarachan, Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol, New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop, San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid, Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley, Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena, D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen, Tampa Bay Mutiny
MLS Rookie of the Year Winners
2014: Tesho Akindele, FC Dallas
2013: Dillon Powers, Colorado Rapids
2012: Austin Berry, Chicago Fire
2011: C.J. Sapong, Sporting Kansas City
2010: Andy Najar, D.C. United
2009: Omar Gonzalez, LA Galaxy
2008: Sean Franklin, LA Galaxy
2007: Maurice Edu, Toronto FC
2006: Jonathan Bornstein, Chivas USA
2005: Michael Parkhurst, New England Revolution
2004: Clint Dempsey, New England Revolution
2003: Damani Ralph, Chicago Fire
2002: Kyle Martino, Columbus Crew
2001: Rodrigo Faria - MetroStars
2000: Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago Fire
1999: Jay Heaps, Miami Fusion
1998: Ben Olsen, D.C. United
1997: Mike Duhaney, Tampa Bay Mutiny
1996: Steve Ralston, Tampa Bay Mutiny

MLS Newcomer of the Year Winners:
2014: Pedro Morales, Vancouver Whitecaps
2013: Diego Valeri, Portland Timbers
2012: Federico Higuain, Columbus Crew
2011: Mauro Rosales, Seattle Sounders
2010: Alvaro Saborio, Real Salt Lake
2009: Fredy Montero, Seattle Sounders
2008: Darren Huckerby, San Jose Earthquakes
2007: Luciano Emilio, D.C. United

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Winners:
2014: Rodney Wallace, Portland Timbers
2013: Kevin Alston, New England Revolution
2012: Eddie Johnson, Seattle Sounders
2011: David Beckham, Los Angeles Galaxy
2010: Bobby Convey, San Jose Earthquakes
2009: Zach Thornton, Chivas USA
2008: Kenny Cooper, FC Dallas
2007: Eddie Johnson, Kansas City Wizards
2006: Richard Mulrooney, FC Dallas
2005: Chris Klein, Kansas City Wizards
2004: Brian Ching, San Jose Earthquakes
2003: Chris Armas, Chicago Fire
2002: Chris Klein, Kansas City Wizards
2001: Troy Dayak, San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Tony Meola, Kansas City Wizards
1 comment about "Keane is consensus pick for MLS MVP".
  1. Brent Crossland, December 4, 2014 at 8:42 a.m.

    Congrats to all of the winners . . . however, to all of those who continue to criticize Klinsmann's comments about MLS and playing in Europe: ALL four of these players spent their developmental years and most of their career playing in Europe, Africa, or Asia. The MLS Most Valuable Player certainly accomplished more than enough to win the award, but he essentially retired from the EPL to come to MLS. Simple fact -- at this point in time playing in the MLS does not equate to "playing at the highest levels of the game:.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications