Howard takes Player of the Year award for first time

Tim Howard won the 24th Player of the Year award presented by Futbol de Primera and chosen by journalists from across the nation. This is the Everton goalkeeper's first award. He finished ahead of Jermaine Jones and three-time winner Clint Dempsey. DeAndre Yedlin and Morgan Brian won U.S. Soccer’s Young Male Athlete of the Year awards, while U.S. Soccer named Gavin Sibayan the 2014 Disabled Athlete of the Year.
Howard received a total of 363 points (101 votes in first place), while Jones finished second with 160 points and Dempsey placed third with 147 points in the 3-2-1 points system. In order to be eligible for the Player of the Year Award, a player must have played in a minimum of three games for the U.S. national team during the calendar year.
Player of the Year winners:
2014: Tim Howard
2013: Jozy Altidore
2012: Clint Dempsey
2011: Clint Dempsey
2010: Landon Donovan
2009: Landon Donovan
2008: Landon Donovan
2007: Landon Donovan
2006: Clint Dempsey
2005: Kasey Keller
2004: Landon Donovan
2003: Landon Donovan
2002: Landon Donovan
2001: Earnie Stewart
2000: Claudio Reyna
1999: Kasey Keller
1998: Cobi Jones
1997: Eddie Pope
1996: Eric Wynalda
1995: Alexi Lalas
1994: Marcelo Balboa
1993: Thomas Dooley
1992: Eric Wynalda
1991: Hugo Perez

In only his second year as a pro, Yedlin made the U.S. World Cup team and played in three games in Brazil. Brian, who is set to play for Virginia in the NCAA College Cup, has made 13 appearances for the U.S. Women’s National Team and is expected to play a role for the U.S. as they head to the 2015 Women’s World Cup.

Yedlin beat out Mukwelle Akale, Emerson Hyndman and U.S. U-17 stars Christian Pulisic and Haji Wright. Brian beat out Rose Lavelle, Samantha Mewis, Mallory Pugh and Katelyn Rowland



Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications