Chalupny rejoins women's team after five-year absence

U.S. women's national team head coach Jill Ellis named 24 players who will travel to Brazil for the International Tournament of Brasilia, a four-team competition beginning Wednesday at the National Stadium Mane Garrincha. The squad includes Chicago Red Stars defender Lori Chalupny, back with the national team for the first time in five years after suffering from concussion. She was cleared to play after being evaluated by two independent concussion experts and deemed asymptomatic.

Ellis named all 20 players from the team that won the 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship in October to qualify for the 2015 Women's World Cup. Besides Chalupny, Ellis also named Washington Spirit defender Crystal Dunn, who was initially on the qualifying roster before suffering an injury in the lead-up, Boston Breakers goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher and UCLA midfielder Sam Mewis.

"It's a chance to travel to a new environment and play international matches in unfamiliar territory, which is always valuable when getting ready for a World Cup," said Ellis in a statement. "It's pretty exciting to get to play in a World Cup stadium, and many of our players have never played or even been to Brazil before. It's a unique opportunity to go to a fantastic soccer country, have a great cultural experience and get four competitive games to end the year on a high note."

The USA will open the tournament against China, face Brazil on Dec. 14 and finish group play on Dec. 17 against Argentina. The final match day on Dec. 21 will championship and third-place games.

U.S. Women's National Team Roster:
GOALKEEPERS (3): Ashlyn Harris (Washington Spirit), Alyssa Naeher (Boston Breakers), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)
DEFENDERS (9): Lori Chalupny (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Whitney Engen (WNY Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Houston Dash), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Morgan Brian (Univ. of Virginia), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lauren Holiday (FC Kansas City), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (UCLA), Heather O'Reilly (FC Kansas City), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)
FORWARDS (5): Sydney Leroux (Seattle Reign FC), Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (WNY Flash)
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications