MAKING A LIST: A-League contraction

Wednesday's announcement that three A-League teams -- Calgary, Edmonton and Syracuse -- have been discontinued reduces the number of A-League teams returning in 2005 to 13 from a high of 30 teams that completed the 1999 season. Here are the teams that have folded or moved down to another USL league since 1999.

POST-2004 (16 teams in 2004)
Calgary Mustangs
FC Edmonton
Syracuse Salty Dogs

POST-2003 (19 teams in 2003)
Charlotte Eagles (moved to D3 in 2004)
Cincinnati Riverhawks
El Paso Patriots
Pittsburgh Riverhounds (moved to D3 in 2004)
Indiana Blast (moved to PDL in 2004)

POST-2002 (18 teams in 2002)
Milwaukee Rampage (Milwaukee Wave United added in 2003)

POST-2001 (21 teams in 2001)
Connecticut Wolves (moved to D3 in 2002)
Hershey Wildcats
Long Island Rough Riders (moved to D3 in 2002)
Nashville Metros (moved to PDL in 2002)
San Diego Flash

POST-2000 (25 teams in 2000)
Bay Area Seals
Boston Bulldogs (moved to D3 in 2001)
Hampton Roads Mariners (returned in 2002)
Orange County Waves
Raleigh Capital Express
U.S. Pro-40 Select

POST-1999 (30 teams in 1999)
Jacksonville Cyclones
Lehigh Valley Steam
Maryland Mania
New Orleans Storm
Staten Island Vipers
Team Sacramento

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications