PDL adds nine new teams for 2015 season

The PDL will kick off its 26th season in May with nine new teams in the 65-team league. They include two teams that have dropped down from USL PRO: Dayton Dutch Lions and Charlotte Eagles. One PDL club, 2013 champion Austin Aztex, has moved up to USL PRO.

Other new teams announced for the 2015 PDL season include Burlingame Dragons FC, Calgary Foothills FC, FC Miami City Champions, Lehigh Valley United Sonic and Palm Beach Suns FC, in addition to teams in New York and Toronto. Lehigh Valley United Sonic  is a longtime NPSL powerhouse.

A trio of teams have undergone name changes for the new season: Derby City Rovers (formerly River City Rovers), Golden State Misioneros FC (LA Misioneros FC) and the Springfield Synergy (Springfield Demize).
PDL clubs will again play 14-game schedules in 2015, seven home and seven away.

The PDL has grown in importance as clubs have matured and offered attractive summer opportunities for players and developed reputations for helping put them on track to MLS. Reading United had four players taken in the first round of the 2015 SuperDraft.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications