Past national team stars head Hall of Fame ballot

Tiffeny Milbrett, a 1996 Olympic gold medalist and 1999 Women's World Cup champion, two-time gold-medalist Lindsay Tarpley, and Kasey Keller and Frankie Hejduk, who both played in two World Cups for the USA, head the list of players nominated for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2015 elections. Those on this year's Builder ballot include MLS commissioner Don Garber and Seattle Sounders coach Sigi Schmid.

Other nominees on the Player ballot include Columbus Crew head coach Gregg Berhalter, who played in the 2002 World Cup, 13-year MLS veteran Jimmy Conrad and 2008 Olympic gold medalist Natasha Kai. Of the 31 players on the Player ballot, Robin Fraser and Shannon MacMillan are in their final year of eligibility.

The voting pool includes all past and present full men's and women's national team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL Commissioners, U.S. Soccer CEO/Secretary General Dan Flynn, U.S. Soccer President Sunil Gulati, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can list up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the Veteran ballot.

2015 Player Ballot
Chris Armas
Gregg Berhalter*
Jimmy Conrad*
Robin Fraser**
Frankie Hejduk*
Chris Henderson
Natasha Kai*
Kasey Keller*
Jovan Kirovski*
Chris Klein
Jason Kreis
Eddie Lewis
Shannon MacMillan**
Clint Mathis
Tiffeny Milbrett*
Jaime Moreno
John O'Brien
Ben Olsen
Pat Onstad*
Steve Ralston
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts
Eddie Robinson*
Tony Sanneh
Briana Scurry
Diego Serna*
Kate Sobrero Markgraf
Lindsay Tarpley*
Taylor Twellman
Christie Welsh*
Zach Thornton*

*First year of eligibility
**Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2016

VETERAN BALLOT. Nine players are up for selection on the Veteran ballot, which is voted on only by current Hall of Famers after the list has been narrowed down by a screening committee.

Voters can name up to five Veteran candidates, and the top vote-getter will be elected as long as he or she appears on a minimum of 50 percent of the ballots. If no individual appears on 50 percent of the ballots, then no Veteran will be elected to the 2015 Class. More than one candidate may be elected in the event of a tie.

2015 Veteran Ballot
Mike Burns
John Doyle
Marco Etcheverry
Linda Hamilton
Mary Harvey
Shep Messing
Glenn Myernick
Cindy Parlow
Tisha Venturini-Hoch

BUILDER BALLOT. The 2015 Builder ballot includes nine individuals selected by a screening committee and follows the same procedures for election as the Veteran ballot, although the voting pool is expanded to also include select soccer administrators.

2015 Builder Ballot
Bob Contiguglia
Don Garber
Richard Groff
Robert Kraft
Tim Lieweke
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth
Kevin Payne
Sigi Schmid
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications