Mexico's U-23s without Torres and Salcedo

A conflict with the Copa MX final prevented Erick Torres and Carlos Salcedo from traveling with Mexico's U-23s for their game against the U.S. U-23s at StubHub Center on Wednesday night. Their club, Chivas de Guadalajara, plays in Tuesday's match. Texan Uvaldo Luna is among the 20 players called by Mexico.

Just seven players from the 20-player squad called in for the friendly against Brazil's U-23s in March are in the team. Torres and Salcedo were among four Chivas players who started in the 0-0 tie. Four players from Chivas' farm team in Tepic are with the U-23s in Carson.

Luna, who played in the U.S. and Mexican youth programs before committing to Mexico's U-20s in 2013, has played one first-team league game for Tigres. He is one of many Mexican-Americans who joined Tigres' youth system, but the ranks thinned out as the path to the first team was blocked.

Mexico U-23 coach Raul Gutierrez is preparing his players for the Pan American Games, to be staged in Canada starting July 13, and the 2016 Olympic qualifying tournament that will be hosted by the USA starting Oct. 1.

Six players from Mexico’s U-17 World Cup team that won the world championship in 2011 are included, as are two players that reached the U-17 final two years ago. The only player selected who also played for the full national team against the USA last week is Toluca forward Marco Bueno, who came on in the 83st minute.

U.S. under-23 head coach Andi Herzog announced his roster on Monday for the match that will be shown live on Unimas Wednesday with an approximate kickoff time of 11:20 p.m. ET.

Mexico won its first gold medal in men's soccer in 2012.

Mexico Roster:
GOALKEEPERS: Gibran Lajud (Tijuana), Luis Cardenas (Monterrey).
DEFENDERS: Luis Cecena (Atlas), Luis Solorio (Coras de Tepic), Jorge Caballero (Monterrey), Bernardo Hernandez (Monterrey), Gil Buron (Queretaro), Pedro Teran (Atlas).
MIDFIELDERS: Daniel Hernandez (Atlas), Carlos Cisneros (Coras de Tepic), Michael Perez (Coras de Tepic), Rosario Cota (Cruz Azul), Jorge Espericueta (Tigres), Pedro Hernandez (Tijuana), Kevin Escamilla (UNAM).
FORWARDS: Angel Zaldivar (Coras de Tepic), Ulises Jaimes (Morelia), Uvaldo Luna (Tigres), Jose Alberto Garcia (Tijuana), Marco Bueno (Toluca).

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications