UEFA makes UCL seeding rule change

  • ESPN FC, Monday, May 18, 2015 2:36 PM

A change in the rules for seeding the teams that have qualified for the UEFA Champions League means that next season the champions of the top seven leagues, as ranked by UEFA’s coefficient, will be seeded along with the holders of the competition. That means Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Juventus, Benfica, Paris-Saint Germain and Zenit St. Petersburg are automatically seeded. Because Barca and Juventus face each other in next month's final, the holder is already sure of being seeded, so that place transfers to the league ranked eighth by UEFA -- which is the Eredivisie, whose champion is PSV Eindhoven. Meanwhile, Pots 2 through 4 will now be solely based on UEFA coefficient instead of league position. 

Read the whole story at ESPN FC »

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications