Massapequa returns McGuire Cup to New York for first time in 59 years

By Paul Kennedy

Massapequa Arsenal became the first team from New York to win the McGuire Cup since 1959 when it captured the under-19 boys title at the 2015 U.S. Youth Soccer National Championships in Tulsa, Oklahoma, with a 3-1 win over three-time champion St. Louis Scott Gallagher.

2015 U.S. Youth Soccer National Champions:
Under-19 Boys | Massapequa Arsenal (NY-E)
Under-18 Boys | FC Golden State White (CA-S)
Under-17 Boys | Chicago Magic PSG Preacademy (IL)
Under-16 Boys | Baltimore Celtic (MD)
Under-15 Boys | Sporting KC Academy (KS)
Under-14 Boys | Houstonians 2001 (TX-S)
Under-13 Boys | Baltimore Celtic Darby (MD)
Under-19 Girls | Gretna Prima (NE)
Under-18 Girls | Carlsbad Elite (CA-S)
Under-17 Girls | Tampa Bay United Premier (FL)
Under-16 Girls | JFC Storm (FL)
Under-15 Girls | Legends FC (CA-S)
Under-14 Girls | Legends FC (CA-S)
Under-13 Girls | PSG MI Gators Orange (MI)             

The McGuire Cup was first held in 1935, and Hatikvoh Juniors of Brooklyn won the title in 1936 and 1937. New York teams Kollsman FC and Ukrainian of Brooklyn won the youth title in 1952 and 1956, respectively.

"We know what the McGuire Cup means," Arsenal coach Tobi Bischof said. "We know it’s the oldest youth competition in the U.S., and has been around for 80 years now. We knew there were only [four] New York teams who have ever won it. Now, the boys have found a way to win it and bring it back to New York, and we’re really happy about that."     

Michael Farese scored in the first half and Nicholas Cestaro and Brendan Gallivan broke a 1-1 tie with penalty kicks in the second half.

MLS's Sporting Kansas City took home the first boys national championship for a team from Kansas as its academy team won five straight games to capture the under-15 boys championship, finishing off with a 3-1 win over Fewster FC of Maryland in the final. U.S. U-14 Cameron Duke, Abdu Kikhia and Jacob Hall scored for SKC's academy team.

Gretna Prima Green became the first team from Nebraska to win a national title as it defeated FC Nova Nationals in a shootout in the U-19 girts final. FC Nova was seeking to become the first team from Idaho to take home a national trophy.

Two clubs won multiple titles: Baltimore Celtic on the boys side, and Legends FC of Cal South on the girls side. Once again, Cal South led all state associations with four national winners.

Two finals were rematches of 2014 finals. The U-16 girls from Florida's JFC Storm managed to reclaim their championship with a win over YMS Premier Xplosion from Eastern Pennsylvania, while Tampa Bay United Premier gained revenge for last year’s loss to Beach FC Academy of Cal South with the U-17 girls title.

1 comment about "Massapequa returns McGuire Cup to New York for first time in 59 years".
  1. Santiago 1314, July 27, 2015 at 11:22 p.m.

    Interesting,... Houstonians u14 Boys, Traditionally, Inner City Hispanic teams.. Win National Championship... isn't this What We are Looking for!!!.. Burp.!!! Where is the Great Follow up article???

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications