Washington Spirit Reserves claim first W-League title

The Washington Spirit Reserves got two goals from Chilean Yanara Aedo Munoz -- including the game-winner in the 89th minute -- to beat the Colorado Pride, 2-1, and capture their first W-League championship in the league's 21 years. Aedo Munoz also scored Washington’s goal in its 1-0 semifinal victory against the Quebec Dynamo ARSQ.

“In any game in soccer, you love that finish, and it happened to be us, and that’s fantastic,” Washington Head Coach Kati Jo Spisak said, “A lot of the players have been through the system and for a lot of them, this is their third try at a championship. I’m just thrilled for them. In the semifinal, we didn’t play very well, so our sole focus was on how we were going to play, and the girls executed it today, and you could see it in our play.”

Washington completed an undefeated season after capturing the Southeastern Conference title at 9-0-3.

Australian Tara Andrews, who scored the lone goal for the Pride in the final, was named the W-League MVP. She led the league with 18 goals in 2015.

Other 2015 award winners:
Coach of the Year -- Marc Mounicot, Quebec Dynamo ARSQ
Defender of the Year -- Amanda Naeher, Charlotte Lady Eagles
Rookie of the Year -- Imani Dorsey, Washington Spirit Reserves
Goalkeeper of the Year -- Britt Eckerstrom, Colorado Pride
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications