Ontario's K-W United FC takes PDL crown

Top-seeded Kitchener-Waterloo United FC became the third Canadian team to win the PDL championship in the last eight years as the Ontario club earned a 4-3 victory over New York Red Bulls U23 in Sunday’s title match at Starfire Stadium in Tukwila, Washington.

Ben Polk, Joel Perez and sub Jarek Whiteman-Asiamah provided the first-half scoring and Juuso Pasanen added a second-half goal for K-W United. K-W goalkeeper Nate Ingham, who earned a shutout in the semifinals and made a couple key saves -- including a second-half penalty kick attempt by New York captain Scott Thomsen -- was named the tournament’s MVP as his club fought off NYRB U23 down the stretch.

“You rarely see a final like this,” K-W United FC head coach Chris Pozniak said. “We had a very good first half and then died off in the second half when we absorbed way too much pressure. Credit to New York for their great spirit coming back, and they just kept coming.”

“This is a win for my team, not so much myself,” Ingham said. “I was blessed with the MVP and I think a lot of other guys deserve it. Letting in three goals and still winning a championship game, you have to give all the credit to your teammates. It has nothing to do with me. I just came up when they needed me.”

The Red Bulls U23, winner of the 2014 NPSL title, rallied on goals by Thomsen, Rhys Williams and Brian White.

PDL Champions:
2015: K-W United FC
2014: Michigan Bucks
2013: Austin Aztex
2012: FC London
2011: Kitsap Pumas
2010: Portland Timbers U23s
2009: Ventura County Fusion
2008: Thunder Bay Chill
2007: Laredo Heat
2006: Michigan Bucks
2005: Des Moines Menace
2004: Central Florida Kraze
2003: Cape Cod Crusaders
2002: Cape Cod Crusaders
2001: Westchester Flames
2000: Chicago Sockers
1999: Chicago Sockers
1998: San Gabriel Valley
1997: Central Coast Roadrunners
1996: Central Coast Roadrunners
1995: Richmond Kickers
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications