Finalists announced for USL awards

Award candidates in each of five categories have been released as United Soccer Leagues prepares to wind up the 2015 season off the field.

One of the nominees is Rochester head coach Bob Lilley, whose team captured the title Friday night by rallying to beat LA Galaxy II in the championship game, 2-1. Rhinos keeper Brandon Miller is among the finalists for Goalkeeper of the Year.

Heading the lists with three nominees each are Louisville City FC and OKC Energy FC including MVP candidates Matt Fondy and Danni König, respectively.

Voting by team officials and media members determined the 16 finalists (four coaches made the final cut, there are three in the other four categories). Fans will join the voting process this week, with the awards to be announced one per day starting Oct. 26 with the Goalkeeper of the Year. The USL All-League Team will also be released that day.

Here’s the list of finalists, the date the winner will be announced, and the 2014 honoree:

2015 USL Award Finalists
Goalkeeper of the Year (Oct. 26)
Odisnel Cooper, Charleston Battery
Brandon Miller, Rochester Rhinos
Evan Newton, OKC Energy FC
2014 Winner: John McCarthy (Rochester Rhinos)

Defender of the Year (Oct. 27)
Bryan Burke, Louisville City FC
Shawn Ferguson, Charleston Battery
Daniel Steres, LA Galaxy II
2014: Nemanja Vukovich (Sacramento Republic FC)

Coach of the Year (Oct. 28)
Bob Lilley, Rochester Rhinos
Jimmy Nielsen, OKC Energy FC
James O'Connor, Louisville City FC
Steve Trittschuh, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
2014: Preki (Sacramento Republic FC)

Rookie of the Year (Oct. 29)
Brady Ballew, Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Kharlton Belmar, Portland Timbers 2
Ken Tribbett, Harrisburg City Islanders
2014: John McCarthy (Rochester Rhinos)

Most Valuable Player (Oct. 30)

Matt Fondy, Louisville City FC
Danni König, OKC Energy FC
Luke Vercollone, Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
2014: Kevin Molino (Orlando City SC)


Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications