MLS names Ciman its Defender of the Year

A vital member of Montreal’s run to the Concacaf Champions League finals and its third-place finish in the Eastern Conference has won MLS Defender of the Year honors.

Belgian international Laurent Ciman, 30, punctuated his first season in MLS with the award announced on Wednesday. He started 27 league games for Montreal, scoring two goals and registering two assists, and played every minute of its six CCL matches.

A member of Belgium’s squad that reached the 2014 World Cup quarterfinals, Ciman left Standard Liege to sign with the Impact last January. Born in Farciennes, he began his pro career with Charleroi in 2004 and also played for Club Brugge prior to signing with Standard in 2010.

The MLS awards are determined by votes submitted by current players, media members, and team coaches and executives. The other two Defender of the Year finalists were Matt Hedges of FC Dallas and Kendall Waston of Vancouver. Ciman is the first Impact player to win a major individual award since the team began MLS play in 2012.

MLS Defender of the Year Winners
2015: Laurent Ciman, Montreal
2014: Chad Marshall, Seattle
2013: Jose Goncalves, New England
2012: Matt Besler, Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzales, LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave, Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall, Columbus
2008: Chad Marshall, Columbus
2007: Michael Parkhurst, New England
2006: Bobby Boswell, D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad, Kansas City
2004: Robin Fraser, Columbus
2003: Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago
2002: Carlos Bocanegra, Chicago
2001: Jeff Agoos, San Jose
2000: Peter Vermes, Kansas City
1999: Robin Fraser, LA Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik Chicago
1997: Eddie Pope, D.C. United
1996: John Doyle, San Jose


Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications