Robles wins Goalkeeper of the Year honors

The man who played every minute in the nets as the New York Red Bulls captured the Supporters’ Shield is also this year’s Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year.

Luis Robles, 31, topped a group of finalists that also included David Ousted of Vancouver and 2014 winner Bill Hamid of D.C. United in voting conducted among team officials and coaches, media members, and current players. Robles played every minute (3,060) for the Red Bulls while logging nine shutouts, making 86 saves, and posting a 1.26 goals-allowed average.

Robles, a native of Fort Huachuca, Arizona, came to MLS in August 2012, via the allocation process after playing six seasons in Germany for Kaiserslautern and Karlsruhe. He played for the Boulder Rapids Reserve team, which has since been disbanded, while attending the University of Portland from 2002 to 2006.

Since making his MLS debut in September 2012, he’s started every game for the Red Bulls. He holds the league record for starts with the same team (106) in regular-season competition. In his MLS play, he's posted 28 shutouts and has an all-time record of 50 wins, 30 losses, and 26 ties.

He is the first Red Bulls player to be named Goalkeeper of the Year.

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year:
2015: Luis Robles, New York Red Bulls
2014: Bill Hamid, D.C. United
2013: Donovan Ricketts, Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen, Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller, Seattle Sounders
2010: Donovan Ricketts, LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton, Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch, Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan, Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins, D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad, San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon. Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad, San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon, San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard, MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola, Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman, Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton, Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel, Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd, Dallas Burn
3 comments about "Robles wins Goalkeeper of the Year honors".
  1. Jeffrey Forrest, November 20, 2015 at 11:03 a.m.

    About time that Luis was recognized and maybe now Klinsman will also...(he did play in Germany!)?

  2. Jeffrey Forrest, November 20, 2015 at 11:05 a.m.

    Sorry, I meant Herr Klinsmann..

  3. Lexie Robinson, November 23, 2015 at 9:33 a.m.

    whats up

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications