NCAA DIII Men: New champion will be crowned

A new NCAA Division III men's champion will be crowned as the four finalists -- unbeaten Calvin, Amherst, Loras and Oneonta State -- have never won the title. Play begins with the semifinals Friday at Swope Soccer Village in Kansas City.

Calvin, which will be making its third appearance in the semifinals, produced the first 20-win campaign in school history. Its only blemish in 25 games was a 0-0 tie with Endicott in its season opener. Niko Giantsopoulos is second in the nation with a goals-against-average of 0.204.

Amherst is also playing in its third semifinal, having previously reached the final four in 1997 and 2008. It is led by goalkeeper Thomas Bull, who has 15 shutouts this season and 49 for his career, a new NCAA Division III men's career record.

Oneonta previously advanced to the final four in 2011, and again last year when the Red Dragons fell to Wheaton (Ill.), 3-2 in the semifinals. Dylan Williams' overtime goal gave Oneonta State, a Division II runner-up in 1972, the 1-0 win over Haverford in the quarterfinals.

Loras earned its third bid to the final four in the last four years and fifth since 2007 following a 2-1 overtime victory over Wheaton in the quarterfinals. Jorge Simon (19 points), Alex Bradley (18) and Johnny Rummelhart (17) lead a balanced attack.

NCAA Division III Men's Tournament:
Nov. 21
Calvin 1 Kenyon 0
Nov. 22
Oneonta State 1 Haverford 0
Amherst 1 Trinity (Texas) 0
Nov. 23
Loras 2 Wheaton (Ill.) 1
Dec. 4
Amherst (17-1-1) vs. Oneonta State (19-3-1)
Loras (17-4-1) vs. Calvin (24-0-1)
Final four will be played in Kansas City, Missouri.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications