Lloyd is third American to win top FIFA women's award

Carli Lloyd, who captained the USA to the 2015 Women's World Cup title, was named the winner of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala in Zurich on Monday.

FIFA Women's Player of the Year:
1. Carli Lloyd 35.28%
2. Celia Sasic 12.60%
3. Aya Miyama 9.88%.

Lloyd is the third American to win the award after Mia Hamm (2001, 2002) and Abby Wambach (2012). Voting is done by national team coaches and captains as well as international media representatives.

U.S. Voting:
Jill Ellis: 1. Lloyd 2. Solo 3. Sasic.
Christie Rampone: 1. Lloyd 2. Rapinoe 3. Solo.
Jess Kassouf: 1. Lloyd, 2. Henry, 3. Sasic.

Lloyd scored a hat trick to lead the USA to a 5-2 win over Japan in the 2015 Women's World Cup final. She scored the fastest goal in World Cup final history (154 seconds) and became the first female player to score a hat trick in a World Cup final, scoring three goals in a 16-minute span.

Her strike from midfield completed the hat trick and was voted Goal of the Tournament and was nominated for the Puskas award as the FIFA Goal of the Year.

Lloyd won the Golden Ball as the Women's World Cup MVP and also won the Silver Boot as the second leading scorer at the tournament, scoring in all four elimination games and finishing the tournament with six goals total. She led the U.S. women’s national team with 18 goals in 2015, a career high for her in a calendar year and surpassing her previous high of 15 scored in 2012.

With the Houston Dash, Lloyd scored four goals in 12 matches, including three game-winning goals, and was named to the NWSL Second XI.
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications