Chastain heads new Hall of Fame nominees

Two-time Women's World Cup champion and two-time Olympic gold medalist Brandi Chastain heads the list of 2016 nominees for the National Soccer Hall of Fame. Also up for selection for the first time are Jeff Cunningham, Heather Mitts, Aly Wagner, Josh Wolff and Wilman Conde.

A voting pool includes all past and present full men's and women's national Team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL commissioners, U.S. Soccer CEO/secretary general, U.S. Soccer president, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can list up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the Veteran ballot.

2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot
Chris Armas
Gregg Berhalter
Brandi Chastain*
Wilman Conde*
Jimmy Conrad
Jeff Cunningham*
Frankie Hejduk
Chris Henderson**
Chris Klein
Jason Kreis
Eddie Lewis
Clint Mathis
Kate Markgraf
Tiffeny Milbrett
Heather Mitts*
Jaime Moreno
John O'Brien**
Ben Olsen
Pat Onstad
Steve Ralston
Ante Razov
Tiffany Roberts**
Tony Sanneh
Briana Scurry
Lindsay Tarpley
Taylor Twellman
Aly Wagner
Josh Wolff*
*First year of eligibility
**Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2017

2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame Veteran Ballot
Mark Chung
Troy Dayak
Danielle Fotopoulos
Robin Fraser
Brian Kamler
Manny Lagos
Shannon MacMillan
Oscar Pareja
Evan Whitfield
Richie Williams

2016 National Soccer Hall of Fame Builder Ballot
Esse Baharmast
Bob Contiguglia
Don Garber
Joe Machnik
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth
Steve Sampson
2 comments about "Chastain heads new Hall of Fame nominees".
  1. Alex Petri, March 29, 2016 at 8 a.m.

    There are some bizarre names on this list. Conde? Whitfield? Dayak? Kamler?

  2. Alex Petri replied, March 29, 2016 at 8:01 a.m.

    And how are Milbrett and Scurry not in already?

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications