Futsal: USA falls to Canada in qualifying play-in

The USA's quest to qualify for the 2016 Futsal World Cup ended when it lost to Canada 9-7 on aggregate in a two-game play-in series for the Concacaf Championship that sends four teams to the Colombia-hosted World Cup.

The USA, which last qualified for the quadrennial Futsal World Cup in 2008, tied Canada in the first leg, 4-4, and lost, 5-3, on Thursday in the second leg.

Canada’s win sends it into Group B with Costa Rica, Curacao and Cuba. Group A is comprised of Guatemala, Mexico, Panama and Honduras, the play-in winner over Trinidad & Tobago in the Costa Rica-hosted competition.

Concacaf Futsal Championship Results & Schedule

May 5 in San Jose, Costa Rica
USA 3, Canada 5. (Canada wins, 9-7, on aggregate). Goals: Dos Santos 16, Harris 38, Mattos 39; Renaud 15, Renaud 18, Belguendouz 22, Bennett 25, Renaud 29.
U.S. starters -- Waltman; Healey, Perez, Donatelli, Chiles. Subs: Tavernese, Harris, Dos Santos, Santana, Mattos, Tayou.
Canada starters -- Lemos, Dimarco, Bennett, Assadpour, Belguendouz. Subs: Humphrey, Jauregui, Moojen, Rodriguez, Chamale, Orellana, Renaud.

May 4 San Jose, Costa Rica
USA 4 Canada 4. Goals: Tayou 20, Healey 27, Santana 29, Mattos 40; Bennett 30, Dimarco 36, Belguendouz 37, Bennett 38.
USA -- Waltman; Healey; Perez, Chiles; Donatelli. Subs: Tavernese, Harris, Dos Santos, Santana, Mattos, Bond, Felipe Gonzalez, Tayou.
Canada -- Lemos; Dimarco; Bennett, Assadpour; Moojen. Subs: Humphrey, Jauregui, Belguendouz, Rodriguez, Chamale, Orellana, Renaud.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications