Copa Centenario: U.S. leagues heavily represented

The USA's roster for the Copa Centenario includes 10 current MLS players, but 17 other MLS players are on the rosters of the other 15 teams that were unveiled on Monday.

Copa Centenario: Rosters

The San Jose Earthquakes lead all teams with four players bound for the Copa Centenario. Six other players play for NASL teams, while one player is in the USL.

After the USA, Jamaica (7 players), Haiti (6) and Costa Rica (5) follow with the most players based in the USA or Canada. Eight teams in all have players from MLS, the NASL or USL.

MLS will be off for the first two weekends of the Copa Centenario, but it will have matches this weekend and midweek next week when teams are in their final preparations.

MLS (27):
4 San Jose Earthquakes (Simon Dawkins/JAM, Anibal Godoy/PAN, Alberto Quintero/PAN, Chris Wondolowski)
3 Sporting KC (Matt Besler, Soni Mustivar/HAI, Graham Zusi)
3 Vancouver Whitecaps  (Christian Bolanos/CRC, Blas Perez/PAN, Kendall Waston/CRC)
2 D.C. United (Steve Birnbaum, Alvaro Saborio/CRC)
2 Portland Timbers (Darlington Nagbe, Jermaine Taylor/JAM)
2 Seattle Sounders (Clint Dempsey, Nelson Valdez/PAR)
1 Colorado Rapids (Jermaine Jones)
1 FC Dallas
(Carlos Gruezo/ECU)
1 Houston Dynamo
(Giles Barnes/JAM)
1 LA Galaxy (Gyasi Zardes)
1 Montreal Impact  (Johan Venegas/CRC)
1 New England Revolution
(Je-Vaughn Watson/JAM
1 New York City FC (Ronald Matarrita/CRC)
1 NY Red Bulls (Kemar Lawrence/JAM)
1 Philadelphia Union (Andre Blake/JAM)
1 Real Salt Lake (Kyle Beckerman)
1 Toronto FC (Michael Bradley)
Note:  Tim Howard will join the Colorado Rapids when the transfer window opens in July.

NASL (6):
2 Jacksonville Armada (Mechack Jerome/HAI, Pascal Millien/HAI)
1 Carolina RailHawks (James Marcelin/HAI)
1 Minnesota United (Steward Ceus/HAI)
1 New York Cosmos
(Yasmani Duk/BOL)
1 Fort Lauderdale Strikers (Jean Marc Alexandre/HAI)

USL (1):
1 Saint Louis FC (Ryan Thompson/JAM)

As few as four MLS players could be headed to Euro 2015: Albania's Shkelzen Gashi (Colorado), Belgium's Laurent Ciman (Montreal) and Ireland's Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy) and Kevin Doyle (Colorado). Final rosters aren't yet due for the tournament that begins June 10.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications