Ella Stevens named Girls Player of the Year

Ella Stevens  of Grayson, Georgia, was named 2015-16 Gatorade National Girls Soccer Player of the Year, becoming the second player from the Peach State to win the award since its inception in 1998.

Previous winners include 2015 Women’s World Cup winners Amy Rodriguez, Ashlyn Harris, Heather O'Reilly, Lauren (née Cheney) Holiday and Morgan Brian, the 2010-11 winner out of the Frederica Academy in St. Simons Island, Georgia.

Stevens, who is headed to Duke, finished her high school career at Grayson High School this year with 74 goals and 84 assists. She played for the USA during its successful qualifying campaign for the 2016 U-20 Women’s World Cup and was recently called in to the U.S. U-19 women’s national team camp.

Stevens has played ECNL ball for GSA since 2011 this season has five goals and nine assists for GAS.

Gatorade National Girls Player of the Year
2015-16 Ella Stevens
2014-15 Mallory Pugh
2013-14 Katie Cousins
2012-13 Morgan Andrews
2011-12 Morgan Andrews
2010-11 Morgan Brian
2009-10 Mollie Pathman
2008-09 Rachel Quon
2007-08 Teresa Noyola
2006-07 Melissa Henderson
2005-06 Lauren Cheney
2004-05 Amy Rodriguez
2003-04 Ashlyn Harris
2002-03 Heather O'Reilly
2001-02 Jill Oakes
2000-01 Mary McDowell
1999-00 Aleisha Cramer-Rose
1998-99 Christie Welsh
1997-98 Aly Wagner

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications