U.S. Abroad: Gonzalez completes MLS-Liga MX double

Omar Gonzalez became the ninth American to win the Mexican league title when Pachuca tied Monterrey, 1-1, in the second leg of the Torneo Clausura final and won, 2-1, on aggregate. Seven of the last nine Mexican champions have had Americans.

The winning goal was scored in the 93rd minute when Victor Guzman was left alone and outjumped U.S. left back Edgar Castillo and headed home Emanuel Garcia's cross.

The league title was the fourth for Gonzalez after MLS championships in 2011, 2012 and 2014. He is the only player to play in the finals for MLS and Liga MX champions.

Copa Centenario: Monterrey's Castillo replaces Chandler on U.S. roster

Herculez Gomez started on the Galaxy's 2005 MLS Cup championship team and played for Santos when it won Mexico's 2012 Clausura but did not play in the Gran Final. Beginning with Santos, seven of the last nine Mexican champions have had Americans.

American Champions in Mexico:
2016 Clausura *Omar Gonzalez
2015 Apertura *Jose Torres (Tigres)
2014 Apertura *Ventura Alvarado (Club America)
2014 Clausura *William Yarbrough (Leon)
2013 Apertura *William Yarbrough (Leon)
2012 Apertura *Joe Corona (Tijuana)
2012 Apertura *Edgar Castillo (Tijuana)
2012 Apertura Greg Garza (Tijuana)
2012 Clausura Herculez Gomez (Santos)
2008 Clausura *Edgar Castillo (Santos)
2007 Clausura Jose Torres (Pachuca)
1995 Dominic Kinnear (Necaxa)
*Played in Gran Final.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications