Draw: 2016-17 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League

MLS's Sporting KC and the Vancouver Whitecaps will meet in the group stage of the 2016-17 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League. FC Dallas, the New York Red Bulls and Portland Timbers also learned their first-round opponents at the drew held Monday at the Fontainebleau Hotel on Miami Beach.

The groups will be contested on a round-robin, home-and-away basis and run from August to October over six dates. The eight winners of the three-team groups will advance to the quarterfinals.

The only former champion in the tournament is Mexico's Pachuca, winner in 2009-10.
2016-17 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League draw:
Group A: W Connection (TRI), Honduras Progreso (HON), UNAM (MEX)  
Group B: Dragon (SLV), Saprissa (CRC), Portland Timbers
Group C: Central FC (TRI), Vancouver Whitecaps, Sporting KC
Group D: Don Bosco FC (HAI), Arabe Unido (PAN), Monterrey (MEX)
Group E: Police United (BLZ), Olimpia (HON), Pachuca (MEX)
Group F: Alianza (SLV), Antigua (GUA), NY Red Bulls
Group G: Plaza Amador (PAN), Herediano (CRC), Tigres (MEX)
Group H: Real Esteli (NIC), Suchitepequez (GUA), FC Dallas
1 comment about "Draw: 2016-17 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League".
  1. Miguel Aviles, June 1, 2016 at 6:39 p.m.

    With 3 team groups the group stage is essentially a joke. to me the only possible difficult encounters are Herediano-Tigres; Vancouver-Sporting KC and Saprissa-Portland. the rest of the group stage should be pretty easy for the LigaMX and MLS clubs.

    Paul, Pachcua is NOT the only former winner in the competition, Monterrey won it 3 straight years from 2011-2013 and UNAM won it multiple times in the pre Champions League era.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications