MLS Expansion Draft: Clubs get only five picks

MLS will hold its Expansion Draft for 2017 entrants Atlanta United and Minnesota United FC on Dec. 13, three days after MLS Cup. The draft will consist of only five rounds -- the fewest ever -- from a list of players each of the 20 existing clubs makes available.

The 20 current MLS clubs will protect 11 players, while Generation adidas players who do not graduate from the program at the end of the season and Homegrown Players on a club’s Supplemental or Reserve roster, will not be eligible for selection in the Expansion Draft.
A club may lose a maximum of one player in the Expansion Draft.
In advance of the Expansion Draft, MLS will hold the Expansion Priority Draft, a priority selection process used when more than one expansion club enters the League in the same season.

A coin flip will decide whether Atlanta United or Minnesota United FC will receive the first selection in the Expansion Priority Draft.

The Expansion Priority Draft on Oct. 16 will determine the order in which Atlanta United and Minnesota United pick in six player acquisition methods:
-- 2016 MLS Expansion Draft (Picks 1 & 2)
-- 2017 MLS SuperDraft (Picks 1 & 2)
-- Allocation Ranking Order (Ranks 1 & 2)
-- 2016 Waiver Draft and Re-Entry Draft Ranking (Ranks 21 & 22)
-- Discovery Player Ranking (Ranks 21 & 22)
-- USL/NASL Player Priority Ranking (Ranks 1 & 2)
1 comment about "MLS Expansion Draft: Clubs get only five picks".
  1. Gus Keri, September 14, 2016 at 5:21 a.m.

    It's time to get rid of expansion draft all together. Give the new clubs more allocation money (equals 5 expansion draft players) and let them buy on their own and don't disturb current clubs.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications