Ballon d'Or short list announced: the 30 finalists

A short list of 30 players was named for the 2016  d'Or, the award that has been split from the FIFA awards. Only journalists take part in the voting.

The finalists consist of 20 Europeans, eight South Americans and two Africans. The list includes three players from Euro 2016 champion Portugal (Rui Patricio, Pepe and Cristiano Ronaldo) and one player from Copa Centenario champion Chile (Arturo Vidal). Pepe and Ronaldo are among six players from Champions League winner Real Madrid.

Ballon d'Or Short list:
Sergio Aguero (Man. City)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Bor. Dortmund)
Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Man. City)
Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli/Juventus)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris SG/Man. United)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Koke (Atletico Madrid)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Barcelona)
Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
Pepe (Real Madrid)
Paul Pogba (Juventus/Man. United)
Rui Patricio (Sporting)
Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)

Read the whole story at France Football »

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications