ACC Women: Florida State makes it four in a row

Florida State came back from a spot as the No. 6 seed to win the ACC women's championship for the fourth year in a row and fifth time in the last six years with a 4-3 shootout win over North Carolina after the teams battled to a scoreless draw.
“It was a very competitive match, a lot of physical play and a lot of battling,” FSU coach Mark Krikorian said. “Overall, I am quite pleased with our young group and all that they accomplished in winning this tournament.”

FSU goalkeeper Cassie Miller made stops on Abby Elinsky and UNC freshman star Bridgette Andrzejewski to give the Seminoles a shootout win, its third in the last six seasons. For the second straight year, defender Natalia Kuikka was voted the tournament MVP.
UNC was seeking its 21st ACC championship title but its first since 2009.
“I want to congratulate Florida State,” Tar Heel head coach Anson Dorrance said. “This is starting to become a habit for them. Winning this event four years in a row is not an easy thing to do in this league, and I tip my hat to Mark and his staff.”

All-Tournament Team:
Catrina Atanda, Clemson
Kaleigh Olmstead, Notre Dame
Lindsey Harris, North Carolina
Annie Kingman, North Carolina
Bridgette Andrzejewski, North Carolina
Julia Ashley, North Carolina
Maya Worth, North Carolina
Kirsten Crowley, Florida State
Megan Connolly, Florida State
Cassie Miller, Florida State
Natalia Kuikka, Florida State - MVP

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications