Summit Men: Unbeaten Denver rallies for fourth in a row

Unbeaten Denver captured its fourth consecutive Summit League title with a 2-1 win over top-seeded Omaha. Andre Shinyashiki's header off a cross from Sam Hamilton with 41 seconds remaining.

Shinyashiki also tallied the game-tying goal in the 75th minute on assists from Blake Elder and Graham Smith.

Denver dominated the game with an 18-6 edge in shots, but the Mavericks opened the scoring in the 58th minute on Jacob Weiler's goal.

All-Tournament Team:
Fazlo Alihodzic, Omaha
Jacob Bevan, Western Illinois
Jacob Bjornsen, Western Illinois
Scott DeVoss, Denver
Lalo Gamboa, Omaha
Karsten Hanlin, Denver
Jonathan Huerta, Eastern Illinois
Jake McCain, Omaha
Marcus Menniti, Eastern Illinois
Andre Shinyashiki, Denver (MVP)
Graham Smith, Denver
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications