Big Ten Men: No. 1 Maryland makes it three in a row

No. 1  Maryland win its third consecutive Big Ten Tournament championship in three years in the conference after defeating Wisconsin, 2-1, in Sunday’s final. With the win, the Terrapins will make its 16th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance, and 34th trip in program history.

The Terps’ D.J. Reeves scored the opening goal in the second minute. Wisconsin responded in the 12th minute on Tom Barlow's goal. But Sebastian Elney put Maryland back ahead when he headed in the Terrapins’ game-winning goal in the 43rd minute following a corner kick from Jorge Calix.

Maryland keeper Cody Niedermeier ended the game with seven saves.

All-Tournament Team:
Francesco Moore, Indiana
Alex Crognale, Maryland, Defensive Player of the Tournament
Cody Niedermeier, Maryland
Gordon Wild, Maryland, Offensive Player of the Tournament
Francis Atuahene, Michigan
Dewey Lewis, Michigan State
Nate Dearth, Northwestern
Niall Logue, Ohio State
Robby Sagel, Penn State
Tom Barlow, Wisconsin
Philipp Schilling, Wisconsin
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications