NJCAA: Tyler wins fifth Division I men's title

Tyler won its fifth NJCAA Division I men’s title in eight seasons when it shut out Monroe, 2-0, in the final on goals by Michael Boakye and Liberian Mohammed Kamara. The Apaches' defense held Monroe without a single shot in the title match.

Tyler beat Hill (4-1) and Trinidad State (2-1) in pool play and San Jacinto-South (2-0) in the semifinals to close its 2016 campaign with a 24-0-0 record.

Kamara received tournament MVP honors after totaling three goals and an assist in the tournament. Boakye and South African Yazeed Matthews also made the all-tournament team.

It was the sixth national title for Tyler coach Steve Clements -- five with the Apaches and one with Meridian in 2000.

"They did what we asked them to do," said Clements. "It was nice to win at home."

Monroe dropped to 19-1-0 after suffering its first loss of the season. Gabriel Machado and Veux Mane made the all-tournament team.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications