MLS Moves: Revs renew options on 12 players

Nineteen Revs are under contract for the 2017 season after the club announced Monday it had exercised options on a dozen players.

Rights were retained on forwards Juan Agudelo, Teal Bunbury, and Femi Hollinger-Janzen; midfielder Zachary Herivaux; defenders Andrew Farrell, Donnie Smith, Chris Tierney, Je-Vaughn Watson, and London Woodberry; and goalkeepers Cody Cropper, Brad Knighton and Matt Turner.

As per MLS rules, teams must notify players before Nov. 30 regarding options for the following season. Options were declined for midfielder Steve Neumann and defender Jordan McCrary. Seven other players are under contract for 2017: forward Kei Kamara; midfielders Scott Caldwell, Diego Fagundez, Xavier Kouassi, Lee Nguyen, and Kelyn Rowe; and goalkeeper Bobby Shuttleworth.

The contracts of four Revolution players expire Dec. 31: midfielders Daigo Kobayashi and midfielder Gershon Koffie, and defenders Darrius Barnes and Jose Gonçalves. New England can re-sign these players as well as those whose options were declined until Dec. 14, the day after the league will conduct its Expansion Draft.

Teams can protect 11 players and lose no more than one in the Expansion Draft, in which Atlanta United and Minnesota United will each pick five players. Teams must submit their lists of protected players by Dec. 12.

Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications