NCAA Division III: Tufts and Washington capture crowns

Tufts won its second NCAA Division III men's championship in three years, while Washington (Mo.) captured its first Division III women's title after finishing second in 2009 and 2015. Both final fours were hosted by Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia.

Tyler Kulcsar's golden goal in the second overtime gave Tufts a 1-0 win over Calvin to win its second national championship in the last three years.

All-Tournament Team:
Sr. Forward Evan Jastremski, Brandeis
Sr. Defender Kyle Robinson, Brandeis
Sr. Defender Johnny Mulvahill, St. Thomas
Jr. Midfielder Shae Bottum, St. Thomas
So. Defender Trent Vegter, Calvin
So. Midfielder Jacob Witte, Calvin
Sr. Midfielder Isky Van Doorne, Calvin
Sr. Midfielder Zach Halliday, Tufts
Sr. Forward Gaston Becherano, Tufts
Sr. GK Scott Greenwood, Tufts
Defensive Most Outstanding Player: Daniel Sullivan, Tufts
Offensive Most Outstanding Player: Tyler Kulcsar, Tufts

Washington (Mo.) won the women's title with a 5-4 shootout victory over Messiah after their match in the final ended 1-1.

Freshman Taylor Cohen gave Washington the lead in the second half, but Erin Sollenberger's for Messiah sent the game to overtime.

All-Tournament Team:
So. Midfielder Jenna McKinney, Chicago
Fr. Midfielder Mackenzie Peebles, Chicago
Jr. Midfielder Haliana Burhans, Brandeis
Sr. Defender Michaela Friedman, Brandeis
So. Defender DJ Cole, Messiah
Sr. Forward Marisa Weaver, Messiah
Sr. Forward Erin Sollenberger, Messiah
Sr. Defender Kayla Deckert, Messiah
Sr. Defender Megan Nicklay, Washington
Fr. Forward Taylor Cohen
Defensive Most Outstanding Player: Sr. Goalkeeper Lizzy Crist, Washington
Offensive Most Outstanding Player: Sr. Forward Katie Chandler, Washington
Next story loading loading..

Discover Our Publications